In ENGL 3610, you will be asked to create a presentation or write a paper about a text of your choice from the class syllabus. This guide will help you find articles and other sources to help you support your presentation or argument. It presents a number of different strategies for finding articles (see left), and I strongly recommend that you review all of them before you dive into the article databases.
This guide will build on what you've learned so far about library research in ENGL 1010 and 2020. And, if it's been a while since you had those classes, this guide will be a great refresher.
If you have any questions or need help developing a topic, please talk to your subject librarian! We're always happy to help!
The following databases have different advantages and drawbacks, but I use all of them for medieval literature research.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Open access.
Google Scholar offers sources across many disciplines and sources, like academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and websites. Results include articles, theses, books, abstracts, court opinions, and more.Non-peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Focuses on social, cultural, political, scientific, and religious perspectives in Europe from the 12th to early 18th centuries. Includes primary source documents.
Non-peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Specializes in European travel writing from the later medieval period, especially journeys to central and eastern Asia. Includes the most influential prose works of the late Middle Ages, plus lesser-known works.
You can also use OneSearch for historical and other interdisciplinary research.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Videos. Audio Recordings.
OneSearch is the default search on the Fulton Library’s homepage. Includes the library’s books and videos, articles from many library databases, and more.
