PSY 3460: Personality Theory

Including more than 11,000 definitions, this authoritative and up-to-date dictionary covers all branches of psychology. Clear, concise descriptions for each entry offer extensive coverage of key areas including cognition, sensation and perception, emotion and motivation, learning and skills, language, mental disorder, and research methods.

This second edition of a landmark reference resource—created not only for psychologists, clinicians, students, and professionals from allied mental health professions, but for all interested readers—offers definitive information on the lexicon of the field, including almost 26,000 entries offering clear and authoritative definitions in psychology.

An online version of the DSM-5 is available through the Fulton Library's subscription to Psychiatry Online Premium.
Also available in print.

Physical copies of the DSM-5 are available on the library's 5th floor at call number RC455.2 .C4 D54 2013. A non-circulating copy is also available at the Research Help Desk on the library's 1st floor. The DSM-5 is the standard reference book for clinical practice in the mental health field and is used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders.

Today's world is being shaped by migration and globalization at ever increasing rates. As these forces spread, more and more people with different cultural backgrounds and different personalities come into contact and interact with each other. Not only does this phenomenon pertain to how we work and do business together, but it also applies to the people we spend our leisure time with and trust with our private thoughts and feelings: our friends. Insights from cultural and personality psychology into friendship processes are therefore key to understanding and facilitating friendship processes in these current times of diversified multiculturality and accentuated individuality. The present book presents a selection of current international theoretical perspectives and new empirical insights from scholars in cultural and personality psychology on friendship.

Personality psychology is a rapidly maturing science making important advances on both conceptual and methodological fronts. The Cambridge Handbook of Personality Psychology offers a one-stop source for the most up-to-date scientific personality psychology. It provides a summary of cutting-edge personality research in all its forms, from DNA to political influences on its development, expression, pathology, and applications...Each research area is discussed in terms of scientific foundations, main theories and findings, and future directions for research.

This book presents a wealth of scientific evidence that our personality emerges from evolved primary emotions shared by all mammals. Yes, your dog feels love—and many other things too. These subcortically generated emotions bias our actions, alter our perceptions, guide our learning, provide the basis for our thoughts and memories, and become regulated over the course of our lives. Understanding personality development from the perspective of mammals is a groundbreaking approach and one that sheds new light on the ways in which we as humans respond to life events, both good and bad.

The goal of cultural psychology is to explain the ways in which human cultural constructions—for example, rituals, stereotypes, and meanings—organize and direct human acting, feeling, and thinking in different social contexts. Linking psychology, anthropology, sociology, archaeology, and history, The Oxford Handbook of Culture and Psychology is the quintessential volume that unites the variable perspectives from these disciplines.

This handbook provides comprehensive coverage on the state of research, critical analysis. and promising avenues for further study on prejudice, stereotyping and discrimination. Each chapter presents in-depth reviews of specific topics, describing the current state of knowledge and identifying the most productive new directions for future research.

The Oxford Handbook of Positive Psychology is the seminal reference in the field of positive psychology, which in recent years has transcended academia to capture the imagination of the general public. The handbook provides a roadmap for the psychology needed by the majority of the population—those who don't need treatment but want to achieve the lives to which they aspire.