Research Guides: SOC 4000: Classical Social Theory: Home

Getting Started

This research guide is designed to help you successfully complete your Research Project for SOC 4000: Classical Social Theory. This guide includes tips for getting started finding articles and other resources in this subject area. It is organized by the types of resources you may want to use in your projects, including:

Search Strategies: learn how to effectively search our databases. Read this page before delving into the other resources in this guide.
Scholarly Articles: save yourself time—learn strategies for reading scholarly articles!
Citations: help with citing your sources in ASA or APA style.

If you need any assistance with your research, contact a librarian using the contact information included in this guide. We're happy to help!

Most Used Resources

The following resources are frequently used for sociology research. OneSearch (below) also works well, since it combines many databases plus the library's book and media collections. Explore the other pages of this guide to find additional resources for your research.

SocINDEX [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Dedicated to sociology research and related topics, including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, religion, racial studies, and social work. Contains journals and abstracts.
Sociological Collection [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Explore sociology topics, such as human behavior, relationships, communication, community development, culture, and more. Includes journal articles.
JSTOR [ITHAKA] This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
This multidisciplinary database includes subjects like literature, history, art, sociology, psychology, mathematics, communication, and science. Contains ebooks, articles, and journals.

SOC 4000 Class Readings

OneSearch & ProQuest

OneSearch and ProQuest are the Fulton Library's main databases. They allow you to search the library's articles, books, streaming media, and more. OneSearch and ProQuest include resources on almost every topic, making it a great place to start your research!

To use either of these databases, go to the UVU Fulton Library Homepage link below. Use the tabs in the search box to navigate between OneSearch and ProQuest. Enter search terms into the box, then hit enter or click the magnifying glass.

We recommend using both databases because, while there is some overlap between the two, each database features a lot of unique content.

UVU Fulton Library Homepage
The library's main page. Access OneSearch, help options, library hours, and more.

Professional Association

American Sociological Association (ASA)
The American Sociological Association (ASA) is a national organization for sociologists dedicated to advancing sociology as a scientific discipline and profession serving the public good. Use their website to learn about common research topics in sociology, and learn about career and professional development opportunities.
Pacific Sociological Association (PSA)
The Pacific Sociological Association (PSA) is a professional community for sociologists, faculty, professionals and students. Established in 1929, The purpose and object of the Society was (and is) the promotion of both sociological research and the teaching of sociology in universities, colleges, community colleges, and high schools in the Pacific area.