This research guide is designed to help students researching art and art history get started finding articles, books, and other resources in this subject area. It will help you be more efficient in your research and writing. To learn more about effective searching, read the Search Strategies page before delving into the available resources in this guide.
If you need any assistance with your art research, contact your subject librarian using the Ask Your Librarian information on this guide. We're always happy to help!
Image: Henry Ossawa Tanner’s The Banjo Lesson (1893)
The following resources are frequently used for art and art history research. OneSearch (below) also works well, since it combines many databases plus the library's book and media collections. Explore the other pages of this guide to find additional resources for your research.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Subject areas include art, art history, art criticism, interior design, ceramics and sculpture, film, and museology. This database provides access to journals, magazines, and newspapers within these topics.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
This multidisciplinary database includes subjects like literature, history, art, sociology, psychology, mathematics, communication, and science. Contains ebooks, articles, and journals.
Partially peer reviewed. Full-text content.
This collection encompasses specialist subject areas that are not found in general databases, including art, design, architecture, humanities, film/screen studies, music, and performing arts. Contains journal titles and indexes in these fields.
Non-peer review. Full-text content.
Grove Art Online is a scholarly art encyclopedia, covering global art and architecture. Provides access to art dictionaries, plus extensive image links and online reference resources.
Partially peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Explores humanities subjects, including art, architecture, history, philosophy, music, literature, and theater. Offers journal articles and more.
OneSearch and ProQuest are the Fulton Library's main databases. They allow you to search the library's articles, books, streaming media, and more. OneSearch and ProQuest include resources on almost every topic, making it a great place to start your research!
To use either of these databases, go to the UVU Fulton Library Homepage link below. Use the tabs in the search box to navigate between OneSearch and ProQuest. Enter search terms into the box, then hit enter or click the magnifying glass.
We recommend using both databases because, while there is some overlap between the two, each database features a lot of unique content.
