This guide is designed to help researchers find the following types of company information:
Companies themselves can be a good source of information via their websites, promotional literature, social media, catalogs, etc. Other information like trade secrets, specific strategies or plans, and internal information are usually withheld. Public U.S. companies are required to disclose financial information to the government, such as in 10K reports, 10Q reports, SEC filings, and state filings. Good sources of unbiased information include outside sources found in the news, scholarly or trade articles, social media, blogs, market research reports, analyst reports, and books.
How easy it is to find company information depends on many factors. It is easier to find information when researching a large established public company located in the United States and much more difficult when it's a new or small private company. International companies and subsidiaries can also be more challenging. Librarians are always available to help.
Partially peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Covers economics, business, accounting, management, and related subjects. Includes academic journals, trade publications, company annual reports, dissertations, and working papers, plus country profiles and economic forecasts.
Non-peer reviewed. Full-text content. Statistical & research data.
Offers a wealth of detail - the hallmark of all Mergent Products - on company financials, ratios, business segments, descriptions, sustainability, officers and directors. Powerful and intuitive search capabilities combined with an easy to learn and use interface provide quick access to a multitude of company, industry, index, ESG and economic data views and reports. Mergent Market Atlas delivers the same comprehensive suite of financial information used by professionals under LSEG's Data & Analytics and FTSE Russell brands.
Non-peer reviewed. Full-text content. Statistical & data research.
Features large private company business and financial intelligence. Provides data on major, non-publicly traded corporations. The welcome page asks you to login, which offers a more personal experience, but you may click "direct access" to proceed without an account.
Non-peer reviewed. Full-text content. Statistical & research data.
This comprehensive collection focuses on economic data and industry research. Features demographic and government data, plus industry market research and industry risk ratings.
The best place to start most searches is the search box on the library's homepage. This search box defaults to Articles, giving you quick access to popular and scholarly articles from thousands of different publications.
More databases and search tools are available on our full list of databases.
