Research Guides: FSCI 4300: Forensic Genealogy: Find Genealogy

Family History & Genealogy for Beginners

Ancestry Library [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window
Non-peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Statistical & research data.
This genealogy database locates records from around the world, including census, immigration, church records, and more.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index [Gale] This link opens in a new window
Non-peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
This index focuses on people, living and deceased, from all time periods, geographic locations, and fields of endeavor. Provides access to genealogical and biographic materials.
Utah Digital Newspapers [Utah] This link opens in a new window
Non-peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Open access.
This historical database offers access to digitized newspapers within Utah. Contains pages from more than 50 newspapers.

Utah Division of Archives and Records Service
The Research Center contains many useful primary and secondary sources within the collections of the Utah State Archives and Utah State History
Library of Congress Utah Local History & Genealogy Resource Guide
Compiled by reference specialists at the Library of Congress, this guide identifies key print and online resources for pursuing family history, as well as state, county and municipal historical research, for the state of Utah.
FamilySearch
FamilySearch is a nonprofit organization and website offering genealogical records, education, and software. It is operated by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
FamilySearch Research Wiki
The Family History Research Wiki provides handbook reference information and educational articles to help genealogists find and interpret records of their ancestors.
Family History Guide
The Family History Guide is a branch of FamilySearch, is an online genealogy resource center with excellent training tools.
Find a Grave
Find a Grave is the best place on the internet to look for burial and other final disposition information for your family, friends and famous people. The site provides tools that let people from all over the world work together, share information and build an online, virtual cemetery experience.

Genetics and the Unsettled Past (EBook) by Keith Wailoo, Alondra Nelson, and Catherine Lee (Editors)
Publication Date: 2012
Genetics and the Unsettled Past considers the alignment of genetic science with commercial genealogy with legal and forensic developments, and with pharmaceutical innovation to examine how these trends lend renewed authority to biological understandings of race and history. This unique collection brings together scholars from a wide range of disciplines—biology, history, cultural studies, law, medicine, anthropology, ethnic studies, and sociology—to explore the emerging and often contested connections among race, DNA, and history.