In ENGL 4620, you will be asked to write a paper about a text of your choice from the class syllabus. This guide will help you find articles and other sources to help you support your presentation or argument. It presents a number of different strategies for finding articles, and I strongly recommend you review all parts of this guide before diving into the article databases.
This guide will build on what you've learned so far about library research in ENGL 1010 and 2020. And, if it's been a while since you had those classes, this guide will be a great refresher.
In addition to all these searching tips, this guide also has a list of background research resources that can help you understand the medieval mind, Chaucer's classical allusions, medieval manuscripts, and other relevant topics.
The following databases have different advantages and drawbacks, but I use all of them for medieval literature research.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
This multidisciplinary database includes subjects like literature, history, art, sociology, psychology, mathematics, communication, and science. Contains ebooks, articles, and journals.
Partially peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Covers the humanities and social sciences, such as literature, theater, art, psychology, business, film studies, and more. Includes access to journals, books, and more.
Partially peer reviewed. No full-text content.
This database focuses on the English language and literature. Provides access to articles in linguistics, literary criticism, folklore, and related topics.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Open access.
Google Scholar offers sources across many disciplines and sources, like academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and websites. Results include articles, theses, books, abstracts, court opinions, and more.Non-peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Specializes in European travel writing from the later medieval period, especially journeys to central and eastern Asia. Includes the most influential prose works of the late Middle Ages, plus lesser-known works.
You can also use OneSearch for historical and other interdisciplinary research.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Videos. Audio Recordings.
OneSearch is the default search on the Fulton Library’s homepage. Includes the library’s books and videos, articles from many library databases, and more.
