Research in Cinema and Media Studies can include everything from formal analysis of how setting, cinematography and sound make meaning, to production analysis, to how media comments on social context, and much more. This guide is designed to help you quickly find the best sources for your research project.
As you look for sources, keep in mind:
And now...Lights! Camera! Search!
You can search for videos in our streaming video collections.
Note: Swank and Kanopy videos are purchased on three-year licenses. The films in our video databases are subject to change.
Non-peer reviewed. No full-text content. Videos.
The database includes award-winning films and scholarly video material. Features virtually every video type, including documentaries, performances, news programs, field recordings, commercials, counseling sessions, and more.
Non-peer reviewed. No full-text content. Videos.
Docuseek provides video streaming of educational documentaries and social-issue films. Provides access to films from Bullfrog Films, Collective Eye Films, Icarus Films, Kartemquin Films, and more.
Non-peer reviewed. Full-text content. Videos.
This database, created by Films Media Group, focuses on films for most academic disciplines. Contains international films, documentaries, and more.
Non-peer reviewed. Videos.
This on-demand video streaming service provides access to thousands of films. Offers award-winning film collections, including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation, and more.
Non-peer reviewed. Videos.
This video streaming database offers academic movies across a variety of subjects, including sociology, literature, and film studies. Contains award-winning films, foreign films, and much more.
To find other videos on DVD or Blu-ray (as well as streaming videos), use the search box on the library's homepage. The search box defaults to OneSearch. To look for videos, toggle over to Videos. This will limit your search to only videos.
For best results, search by film title. You can also search for specific directors or actors.
OneSearch and ProQuest are the Fulton Library's main databases. They allow you to search the library's articles, books, streaming media, and more. OneSearch and ProQuest include resources on almost every topic, making it a great place to start your research!
To use either of these databases, go to the UVU Fulton Library Homepage link below. Use the tabs in the search box to navigate between OneSearch and ProQuest. Enter search terms into the box, then hit enter or click the magnifying glass.
We recommend using both databases because, while there is some overlap between the two, each database features a lot of unique content.
