This research guide is designed to provide you with resources and helpful information for your CJ 1010: Introduction to Criminal Justice research assignments. It will walk you through recommended databases and websites, how to find newspaper articles, share career resources, and give tips for citing sources. If you need any help with these steps, please contact your librarian.
Background information can help you prepare for further research by explaining the issues related to your topic, especially when you're investigating a field that's unfamiliar to you. You might search Google, or read a few encyclopedia entries or a book chapter. In all of these instances, you will be briefly surveying the existing information to help refine your research topic. Opposing Viewpoints (see below) is a great database for topics involving social issues. The database provides a collection of information about a topic from a variety of sources including websites, newspapers, editorials, and scholarly journals.
Here are a few topics relevant to Criminal Justice:
Non-peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Access in-depth reports on controversial issues in environmental sciences, law, politics, social issues, and international trade and business health. Includes comprehensive reporting and analysis.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Informs the research process for those studying law, law enforcement, terrorism, homeland security, forensic science, and more. Contains content from more than 250 journals.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Explores legal topics, such as legal history, government documents, and more. Contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, plus treaties, constitutions, and case law.
Partially peer reviewed. No full-text content. Open access.
Focuses on the field of criminal justice, including corrections, courts, crime, law enforcement, and more. Contains summaries of federal, state, and local government reports, as well as articles, books, research reports, and unpublished research.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Videos. Audio Recordings.
OneSearch is the default search on the Fulton Library’s homepage. Includes the library’s books and videos, articles from many library databases, and more.
Peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Focuses on the life sciences, physical sciences, medical sciences, and technology, with access to scientific, technical, and medical research. Includes journal articles, book chapters, and publications.
Partially peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Comprehensive database of legal information, including state and federal sources. Contains cases, secondary sources, regulations, and more.
Peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Supports research on crime, such as causes and impacts, legal and social implications, and litigation and crime trends. Includes scholarly journals, trade publications, dissertations, crime reports, and more.
