This research guide is designed to help students in COMM 3020: Communication Research Methods successfully complete their research proposal assignment. Use this guide to learn strategies for locating the peer-reviewed articles and statistics needed for your literature review.
Communication comes up in all disciplines, from health care to education to business. For this reason, if you're looking for research specifically from communication scholars or about communication theories, it's a good idea to use specialized communication databases or journals, such as the database Communication & Mass Media Complete. This guide will help you find and use these resources effectively!
If you're looking for communication research within a different discipline, such as communication in business settings, you might want to also explore the research guide for the subject you're connecting with communication. You can use other library resources in conjunction with communication resources.
If you need any assistance with your research, contact a librarian using the contact information included in this guide. We're happy to help!
The following resources are frequently used for communication research. OneSearch (below) also works well, since it combines many databases plus the library's book and media collections. Explore the other pages of this guide to find additional resources and search tips.
International Encyclopedia of Communication (Ebook) by 
OneSearch and ProQuest are the Fulton Library's main databases. They allow you to search the library's articles, books, streaming media, and more. OneSearch and ProQuest include resources on almost every topic, making it a great place to start your research!
To use either of these databases, go to the UVU Fulton Library Homepage link below. Use the tabs in the search box to navigate between OneSearch and ProQuest. Enter search terms into the box, then hit enter or click the magnifying glass.
We recommend using both databases because, while there is some overlap between the two, each database features a lot of unique content.
For information on getting a research study with human subjects formally approved by the university, see the website for UVU's Institutional Review Board. IRB approval often isn't required for class research assignments, but their website may be helpful depending on the parameters of your project or if you decide to fully implement your project.
