Research Guides: DANC 3630: Dance History: Resources for Critical Theory

Using Critical Theories in Literary Analysis

Think of critical theories like a tool kit. Depending on your chosen dance and what research question you'd like to explore, some of these theories will be more useful than others. As you develop your interpretation of your chosen work, try out a couple of different "tools" to determine which one offers the best framework for your analysis.

As you explore and apply different critical theories, think about:

What is the focus of the critical theory? Is it primarily interested in gender (feminism), class (Marxism), or the structure of a work (deconstructionism, Post-structuralism), etc.?
How does the critical theory help you deepen your interpretation of your chosen work? Does it offer historical context (New Historicism, Post-colonialism) or psychological analysis of character development or behavior (psychoanalysis), etc.?
What additional questions do the various critical theories ask that can help you further develop your ideas about your chosen work or topic?

NOTE: Although many critical theories might seem like they only work in certain cases (i.e. that Marxism can only work when you're looking at social class or economics), you can create some really interesting interpretations by using unexpected critical theories in your research. For example, using Postcolonialism to look at casting choices could result in a really interesting analysis.

Web Resources

These websites contain supplemental resources for dance research.

Critical Dance
This site contains reviews and commentary on contemporary dance performances. It also contains news about American dance.
Dance/USA
This site contains research and useful resources for dancers and dance educators including current data, archival materials about dance history, and networking information.
Dance Annual Directory
This online resource contains links and contact information about dance companies, agents, associations, and much more.
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Although this resource is better known as a comprehensive guide to philosophy, this encyclopedia offers extensive entries on a wide variety of critical theories.
Laban Movement Analysis (Wikipedia)
This Wikipedia article offers easy-to-understand explanations of LMA and concepts pertaining to LMA. In addition, the references and links at the end of the article are a useful jumping off point for further research.
Philosophy of Dance
This thorough overview of dance criticism, theory, and philosophy offers a variety of frameworks for analyzing dance.
Towards the Theories and Practice of the Dance Art
Uji Charles and Awuawuer Tijime Justin describe four critical theories that can be used to analyze dance: philosophical aesthetic theory, sociological aesthetic theory, therapeutic/medical theory, and choreologists aesthetic theory.

Additional Resources

Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism (Ebook) by Michael Groden, Martin Kreiswirth, and Imre Szeman (Editors)
Publication Date: 2004
The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism has become the indispensable resource for scholars and students of literary theory and discourse. The second edition includes 48 new entries and subentries and has been revised throughout, taking account of 10 years of rapidly changing scholarship.
Theory Toolbox (Print Book) by Jeffrey Nealon and Susan Searls Giroux
Publication Date: 2011
The Theory Toolbox offers students the language and opportunity to theorize rather than positioning them to respond to theory as a reified history of various schools of thought. Clear and engaging, it avoids facile description, inviting students to struggle with ideas and the world by virtue of the book's relentless challenge to common assumptions and its appeal to common sense.

Library Help

Call: 801.863.8840
Text: 801.290.8123