Research Guides: DGM 2600: The Animated Image: Art of Animation

Background Information

Background research can be really useful by providing new search terms such as artist and studio names, art movements, technical vocabulary, and more.

Animating Film Theory (Print Book) by Karen Beckman
Publication Date: 2014

Animating Film Theory provides an enriched understanding of the relationship between two of the most unwieldy and unstable organizing concepts in cinema and media studies: animation and film theory. For the most part, animation has been excluded from the purview of film theory. The contributors to this collection consider the reasons for this marginalization while also bringing attention to key historical contributions across a wide range of animation practices, geographic and linguistic terrains, and historical periods.
Animation (Ebook) by Andrew Selby
Publication Date: 2013

From scriptwriting through to production, this introduction to animation for students surveys key technical processes and examines a variety of stylistic approaches. The book includes visual examples from key animators and illustrated features on how to create exciting animation for a variety of audiences. This book is a vital resource for anyone who intends to make animation a part of their career.
Animator's Survival Kit: Animated (DVD) by Richard Williams
Publication Date: 2008

Based on his master class, animator Richard Williams provides the underlying principles of animation that every animator—from beginner to expert, classic animator to computer animation whiz—needs. Urging his students to "invent but be believable," he illustrates his points with hundreds of drawings, distilling the secrets of the masters into a working system.
Anime Encyclopedia (Ebook) by Jonathan Clements and Helen McCarthy
Publication Date: 2015

This book is also available in print.
This third edition of the landmark reference work has six additional years of information on Japanese animation, its practitioners and products, plus incisive thematic entries on anime history and culture.
Art in Motion (Ebook) by Maureen Furniss
Publication Date: 2017

Art in Motion, Revised Edition is the first comprehensive examination of the aesthetics of animation in its many forms. It gives an overview of the relationship between animation studies and media studies, then focuses on specific aesthetic issues concerning flat and dimensional animation, full and limited animation, and new technologies. A series of studies on abstract animation, audiences, representation, and institutional regulators is also included.
World History of Animation (Print Book) by Stephen Cavalier
Publication Date: 2011

Lavishly illustrated and encyclopedic in scope, The World History of Animation tells the genre's 100-year-old story around the globe, featuring key players in Europe, North America, and Asia. From its earliest days, animation has developed multiple iterations and created myriad dynamic styles, innovative techniques, iconic characters, and memorable stories.

O'Reilly Safari Learning Platform [O'Reilly]
For more recent books about specific animation software and digital animation, search O'Reilly Safari. This database offers access to thousands of ebooks about animation, digital media, animation software, and much more. This collection frequently updates so that it contains only the latest titles.

Article Databases

Art Full Text [EBSCO]

Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Subject areas include art, art history, art criticism, interior design, ceramics and sculpture, film, and museology. This database provides access to journals, magazines, and newspapers within these topics.
Google Scholar
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Open access.
Google Scholar offers sources across many disciplines and sources, like academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and websites. Results include articles, theses, books, abstracts, court opinions, and more.
JSTOR [ITHAKA]

Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
This multidisciplinary database includes subjects like literature, history, art, sociology, psychology, mathematics, communication, and science. Contains ebooks, articles, and journals.

Library Help

Call: 801.863.8840
Text: 801.290.8123