Primary Sources in STEM

One option for finding primary, original, or empirical research articles is to run a search that includes a type of research methodology. You can also search just by a type of methodology if you're looking for any examples using the method or you can combine your topic with a type of methodology. 

For best results, make sure that filters for peer-reviewed/scholarly journals are checked.

Sample Searches

• infection AND treatment AND "double-blind"
• "alternative fuels" AND experiment

NOTE: Using "primary source" as a search term often does not work in STEM research. It may bring up irrelevant historical results.

For a review of how to format your searches, see the Search Strategies page on our Starting Your Research guide:

There are two ways to use filters to limit your search to empirical or original research. One option is to use the advanced search options to limit your results by methodology. This option is only available in some databases. If this option is not available, you'll need to go with the second option, which is to use filters that appear on databases' results page after you run your initial search. This page will explain both options.

Using Advanced Search Options

Some databases include filters among their advanced search options that you can use to search for studies that use specific research methodologies. This method isn't foolproof. Not all methodologies will be available in these filters and articles that don't have their methodologies listed in the database record may be overlooked. 

Using the Methodology Filter

1. Use the library's list of databases to find a subject-appropriate database. Not all databases have a methodology filter, but there are several databases in health sciences, behavioral sciences, and the physical sciences that do, such as APA PsycInfo.

2. If necessary, navigate to the database's advanced search page and look for the methodology filter. This example comes from APA PsycINFO:

3. Choose the methodology you need and run your search. You don't always need to have a topic in the main search box to run this type of search, if you are simply looking for examples.

Using Filters on Database Results Pages

Once you've run an initial search, many databases will offer a variety of filters that can help you eliminate articles that won't be useful. Some of these filters can remove articles by their publication date. Other filters can remove articles in languages you don't read. For our purposes, we're going to look at two filters that can help you find empirical or original research: article type filters and subject filters. 

Remember that, to use these filters, you will need to run an initial search.

Using Article Type Filters

Once you've run a search, look for a column of filter options that you can use to add additional criteria to your search. (Location of filters varies depending on the database you're using.) This example comes from ScienceDirect:

Different databases use different labels for original or empirical research articles. ScienceDirect uses research articles as a general label for this kind of research. Select the type of article you want and, if necessary, apply the filter to re-sort your results. 

If you're unsure which label is the right one to use, feel free to ask a librarian! 

Using the Subject Filter

Another option is to use the subject filter that appears on the results page of many of the library's databases. These filters take the most frequently occurring assigned keywords and subjects to help you weed out irrelevant results. Because these assigned terms can also include methodology information, you can use these filters to locate articles that use specific methodologies. 

Once you've started a search, look for a column of filters. (Location varies depending on the database). These examples come from OneSearch:

To use these filters, click on methodologies used in original or empirical research and then apply them to re-sort your results. If you're not sure which methodologies to select, contact a librarian or use our research methodologies guide (below) to learn more about different types of research.