In ENGL 3040, you will need to write two papers on topics of your choice about the English language, its development over time, historical context, or cultural impact. Depending on your topic, you might need to venture into disciplines that are new to you, particularly the field of linguistics. This guide is designed to help you get started.
You can also contact Annie Smith, the librarian for this subject area, for help developing topics, picking search terms, planning strategies, and using the databases. This is one of her absolute favorite research subjects, and she would be delighted to chat with you about anything pertaining to the history of English.
The following databases have different advantages and drawbacks, but I would recommend all of them for research on the history of the English language, English literature, and linguistics.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
This multidisciplinary database includes subjects like literature, history, art, sociology, psychology, mathematics, communication, and science. Contains ebooks, articles, and journals.
Partially peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Covers the humanities and social sciences, such as literature, theater, art, psychology, business, film studies, and more. Includes access to journals, books, and more.
Partially peer reviewed. No full-text content.
This database focuses on the English language and literature. Provides access to articles in linguistics, literary criticism, folklore, and related topics.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Open access.
Google Scholar offers sources across many disciplines and sources, like academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and websites. Results include articles, theses, books, abstracts, court opinions, and more.You can also use OneSearch for historical and other interdisciplinary research.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Videos. Audio Recordings.
OneSearch is the default search on the Fulton Library’s homepage. Includes the library’s books and videos, articles from many library databases, and more.
