Citation management tools can help you keep track of your research, organize your citations, collaborate with others, format bibliographies, and more! These free tools are just a few of the options available to you. Remember, when using citation management tools, you must always check automatically generated citations to make sure they adhere to the rules of your chosen citation style.
Use this comparison chart to help you decide which free citation management tool best fits your needs. We also recommend consulting your instructor or research partners to see which tool they prefer or are already using, since these tools often involve collaborating with others. If you don't have a preference, Zotero is a great choice!
| Software Features | EndNote Basic | Mendeley | Zotero |
|---|---|---|---|
| Developer | Clarivate Analytics | Elsevier | Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media |
| Platform | Browser | Desktop app, browser | Desktop app, browser |
| Reference Storage | 50,000 | Unlimited | Unlimited |
| Attachment Storage | 2 GB - additional for $ | 2 GB - additional for $ | 300 MB - additional for $ |
| Share in Public Groups | No | Yes | Yes |
| Share in Private Groups | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Citation Import Method | Direct from Ebsco databases, browser extension, or manually | Browser extension, by DOI or ISBN, or manually | Browser extension, by DOI or ISBN, or manually |
| Creates Bibliographies | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Cite While You Write Feature | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Annotate PDF | Yes | Yes | No |
| Open Source | No | No | Yes |
| Paid Version Available | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Sync between Web / Desktop | No | Yes | Yes |
| Accessible | No | Yes | Yes |
| Tagging | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Word Processor Plugin | MS Word, Open Office | MS Word, Open Office, LibreOffice | MS Word, LibreOffice, OpenOffice, NeoOffice, Google Docs |
| Work Offline | Yes | Yes | Yes |
Many library databases include a citation tool that automatically generates citations for you, in a variety of styles. When you've found an article, book, or other item in a library database that you'd like to use, look for a tool or button labeled Cite or Citation. The exact location and label for the tool varies depending on the database you're using. In EBSCOhost databases like OneSearch, the Citation Tool is available right from the results page:
You'll be prompted to select a citation style before the database generates a citation for you.
The library recommends you use these citation-generating tools—there's no reason to write citations from scratch when you have a time-saving tool like this! However, these citations can often contain formatting errors or missing information, since they're not actually made by a human. You should always proofread and edit citations made by citation generators! Use the resources on the Citation Style Manuals & Guides page, to find properly formatted citation examples that will help you with citation editing.