Research Guides: Family Science: Home

Getting Started

This research guide is designed to support students researching family science topics. It will help you get started finding articles, books, and other resources in this subject area. It is organized by the types of resources you may want to use in your projects, including:

Search Strategies: learn how to effectively search our databases. Read this page before delving into the other resources in this guide.
Find Articles: includes databases and journals most effective for your research.
Scholarly Articles: save yourself time—learn strategies for reading scholarly articles!
Find Books: examples of books and ebooks in our collection, as well as information about how to find more books.
Find Videos: includes resources for finding videos of therapy and counseling session, documentaries, and other videos.
Find Statistics & Data: includes resources to help you locate statistics related to your research.
Find Tests & Measures: tips for finding psychology tests and measures to use in your research, as well as resources to help you write your own surveys.
Find Public Policies: online resources for locating local and national laws and other public policies related to the family.
Professional Associations: links to family science professional associations.
Citations: help with citing your sources in APA style.

If you need any assistance with your research, contact a librarian using the contact information included in this guide. We're happy to help!

Most Used Resources

APA PsycInfo [EBSCO]
This database from the American Psychological Association includes journal articles on a wide range of behavioral and social science topics, such as psychology, psychiatry, pharmacology, linguistics, treatments and counseling, and addiction. Late 1800s-present, mostly peer-reviewed content, partial full text available.
APA PsycArticles [EBSCO]
This database provides full text access to journal articles from the American Psychological Association. It covers a wide range of behavioral and social science topics, such as psychology, psychological treatment, counseling, developmental psychology, and educational psychology. 1984-present, peer-reviewed content, full text available.
APA PsychTESTS [EBSCO]
Non-peer reviewed. Full-text content. Statistical & research data.
A repository of psychological tests particularly useful for qualitative research. Comprised of psychological measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments
SocINDEX [EBSCO]
Covers topics including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, religion, racial studies and social work. Some peer-reviewed content, partial full text available.
Psychiatry Online Premium [APA]
Peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Focuses on the field of psychiatry, such as psychiatric diagnosis, treatment, guidelines, research, and breaking news. Includes books, journals, and more.

Search for Articles

The articles tab on the library's homepage The best place to start most searches is the search box on the library's homepage. This search box defaults to Articles, giving you quick access to popular and scholarly articles from thousands of different publications.