During the process of research for your developmental toolkit assignments, you may decide that a peer-reviewed research article would be useful for your purposes. Peer-Reviewed is a process in which researchers' work is vetted by other experts before publication in a peer-reviewed journal. Peer-reviewed articles are generally viewed as extremely credible. They can provide research supported best practices or evidence-based solutions.
This page includes links to recommended databases you can use to locate peer-reviewed research articles related to family science and human development. When you're ready to search for articles, think of the main ideas you plan to focus on. Once you've identified the main ideas you plan to research, combine your search terms using AND to create a database search string. If your search term is longer than a single word, place it in quotation marks (as shown below) to get the most efficient results.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Videos. Audio Recordings.
OneSearch is the default search on the Fulton Library’s homepage. Includes the library’s books and videos, articles from many library databases, and more.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Focuses on business, humanities, law, social sciences, and science, technology, and medicine. Includes journal articles.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Open access.
Google Scholar offers sources across many disciplines and sources, like academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and websites. Results include articles, theses, books, abstracts, court opinions, and more.
Peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Open access. Statistical & research data.
Dedicated to the medical field, including life sciences, oncology, nursing, dentistry, psychiatry, health care, veterinary science, anesthesiology, and more. Includes articles and other authoritative content.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
This database focuses on psychology and explores topics like psychiatry, pharmacology, linguistics, treatments, counseling, addiction, and more. Contains APA journals and articles
Peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Covers the field of psychology, with topics relating to mental illness, psychological treatment, counseling, developmental psychology, and educational psychology. Includes access to APA journal within these subjects.
Peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Covers social, industrial, experimental, evolutionary, cognitive, clinical, and situational psychology, as well as personality, psychobiology, and psychometrics. Offers abstracts, journals, and more.
The following are recommended family science and marriage & family therapy journals. After you click on a link, you'll arrive at the landing page for the publication. Click on one of the links under Full Text Access to see issues of or articles from the publication.
If you can't access the full text of an article using any of the resources on this page, use Interlibrary Loan to request the article. We'll locate another library that has the article and get you a PDF copy for free; this typically takes 2-3 business days. UVU students and employees should never pay for articles—the library has you covered!
