Research Guides: FAMS 3020: Research Methods for Family Science: Home

Getting Started

This research guide is designed to help students in FAMS 3020: Research Methods for Family Science successfully complete your research proposal assignment. It includes strategies for locating peer-reviewed articles and statistics for your literature review, as well as tips for locating psychological instruments and measures that may be helpful in designing your proposed research study.

The guide includes the following pages to help with your project:

Literature Reviews: learn what makes an effective literature review and tips for keeping them organized.
Identifying & Using Scholarly Articles: learn strategies for reading scholarly articles and using them effectively for a research proposal!
Search Strategies: learn how to effectively search our databases using keywords.
Find Articles: includes databases and journals most effective for finding peer-reviewed articles in family science.
Find Tests & Measures: tips for locating psychological instruments and measure.
Find Statistics & Data: resources to help you locate statistics related to your research.
Citations: help with citing your sources and keeping them organized.

If you need any assistance with your research, contact a librarian using the contact information included in this guide. We're happy to help!

Most Used Resources

APA PsycInfo [EBSCO]
This database from the American Psychological Association includes journal articles on a wide range of behavioral and social science topics, such as psychology, psychiatry, pharmacology, linguistics, treatments and counseling, and addiction. Late 1800s-present, mostly peer-reviewed content, partial full text available.
APA PsycArticles [EBSCO]
This database provides full text access to journal articles from the American Psychological Association. It covers a wide range of behavioral and social science topics, such as psychology, psychological treatment, counseling, developmental psychology, and educational psychology. 1984-present, peer-reviewed content, full text available.
APA PsychTESTS [EBSCO]
Non-peer reviewed. Full-text content. Statistical & research data.
A repository of psychological tests particularly useful for qualitative research. Comprised of psychological measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments
SocINDEX [EBSCO]
Covers topics including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, religion, racial studies and social work. Some peer-reviewed content, partial full text available.
Psychiatry Online Premium [APA]

Peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Focuses on the field of psychiatry, such as psychiatric diagnosis, treatment, guidelines, research, and breaking news. Includes books, journals, and more.

Search for Articles

The articles tab on the library's homepage The best place to start most searches is the search box on the library's homepage. This search box defaults to Articles, giving you quick access to popular and scholarly articles from thousands of different publications.