Indigenous peoples have studied and used hallucinogenic plants for centuries, but it's only since the 1960s that Western researchers have looked to ayahuasca, mescaline, peyote, and psilocybin-producing mushrooms (and other psychedelic chemicals) to treat psychological conditions ranging from addiction to depression to phantom limb pain. This guide offers resources—databases, books, and websites—that can help students research the topic.
Need help developing a research question? Try thinking about:
For additional help researching this topic, consult the behavioral sciences librarian! (Contact information at right)
These databases contain a blend of peer-reviewed and popular articles about the use of various hallucinogens in medicine and psychology. For best results, use the specific names of hallucinogenic plants and substances and/or the names of specific medical conditions. Don't forget to use "quotation marks" to find phrases like "psychedelic medicine," as well as AND to connect the terms in your search.
As you look at different sources, keep an eye out for additional terms that you can use to narrow or broaden your search. Is there a technical term the researchers seem to be using a lot? A new concept that you didn't know about but that seems important? The more words you can try, the more likely you are to find highly relevant articles and other resources.
Peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
This database covers the complementary, holistic, and alternative health fields. Includes journals, magazines, newsletters, reports, and pamphlets.Peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Covers subjects within the biomedical sciences, including dentistry, veterinary medicine, clinical medicine, health care, and health economics. Contains full-text journals and medical reference books.Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Dedicated to providing health information for patients and non-medical professionals, with information about medications, treatments, medical conditions, and more. Includes magazines, journals, and reference books.Peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Covers scholarly journals in nursing, nutrition, psychology, allied health, and related topics.Peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Find articles on nursing, pathology, cancer research, pharmacology, physiology, nutrition, dentistry, and related topics.
Peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Open access. Statistical & research data.
Dedicated to the medical field, including life sciences, oncology, nursing, dentistry, psychiatry, health care, veterinary science, anesthesiology, and more. Includes articles and other authoritative content.