Research Guides: Native American Studies Resources: Home

Welcome!

Cliff dwelling, Bears Ears National Monument (image via Bureau of Land Management)

In celebration of Native American Heritage Month, the Fulton Library invites you to explore a collection of books and videos about the Native American experience–with special consideration for the Indigenous peoples of what is now Utah. The recommended books and videos on this guide are not comprehensive. Many more titles are available in our collections.

We stand on the ancestral homelands of Utah’s Native Nations.

Utah Valley University embraces our unique responsibility of stewardship to this crossroads region. We honor the historical and contemporary contributions of indigenous people to the academic fields we study and the community in which we live.

UVU respects sovereign relationships with state and federal governments and will continue to work in partnership with tribal nations to deliver community outreach, educational programming, and academic support to Utah’s Native Nations.

UVU Land Acknowledgement Committee

Academic Opportunities

UVU Resources for Students

Native American Excellence Program
"The Native American Excellence Program believes student success comes from providing a “home away from home” at Utah Valley University. Our vision includes strategic plans to promote strong community engagement, intentional and lasting partnerships, and continued student success."--from the website
Native Wolverine Association
"Native Wolverine Association (NWA) is a student club at Utah Valley University. The club welcomes all who are interested in Indigenous tribes of the United States and Canada. Its purpose is to promote a sense of community for Native American students at UVU and to increase educational opportunities and strengthen student support services for Native Americans. The community extends to past, current, and future Native UVU students, as well as those who work with UVU's Multicultural Student Services and UVUSA. NWA organizes campus events to share Native American culture and raise funds to promote educational programs." —from the site

Community Resources

Governor's Native American Summit
"Our long-term goal for this conference is to bring together tribal leaders, community partners, government officials, educators, students, and community members to engage in productive dialogue to help Utah’s tribal communities grow and thrive." —from the site
Native Places Atlas
Native Places is a spatial humanities project that consists of an interactive, layered map centered on Utah that encompasses the homelands of the state’s traditionally associated tribes. The map records and restores indigenous place names to major landscape features and selected historical and cultural sites.

Databases

The following databases contain articles and primary sources for research about Native American history, law, literature, education, and other related topics.

America: History and Life [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Covers American and Canadian history from the Neolithic era to the present. Includes articles from hundreds of journals.
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America [Adam Matthew Collection] This link opens in a new window
Non-peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Explores interactions between American Indigenous peoples and Europeans. Contains archival material and spans early contact, the American Civil War, government legislation, and the Civil Rights Movement.
Indigenous Newspapers in North America [Adam Matthew Collection] This link opens in a new window
Non-peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Offers a robust collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada. Contains national, local, and student publications, as well as bilingual and Indigenous-language editions.
AnthroSource [Wiley] This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Focuses on ethnography, archeology, linguistics, and cultural and physical anthropology. Contains current anthropology journals within these fields.
APA PsycInfo [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
This database focuses on psychology and explores topics like psychiatry, pharmacology, linguistics, treatments, counseling, addiction, and more. Contains APA journals and articles
Ethnic NewsWatch [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Some full text content.
Offers essential, often overlooked perspectives on social, ethnic, and cultural news in English and Spanish. Comprised of articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers.
JSTOR [ITHAKA] This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
This multidisciplinary database includes subjects like literature, history, art, sociology, psychology, mathematics, communication, and science. Contains ebooks, articles, and journals.
Westlaw Campus Research [Thomson Reuters] This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Comprehensive database of legal information, including state and federal sources. Contains cases, secondary sources, regulations, and more.

Library Help

Call: 801.863.8840
Text: 801.290.8123