Nutrition

This dictionary offers jargon-free entries on food, nutrition, diet, and health that clearly explain even the most technical of nutritional terms. From abalone to zymogens, its coverage spans types of food (including both everyday and little-known foods), nutritional information, vitamins, minerals, and key scientific areas including metabolism and genomics.

This book presents and discusses current research in the study of nutrition. Topics discussed include appetite control, central inhibitory mechanism controlling water and sodium intake, the validity of nutritional assessment, child dietary intake; nutrition and diabetes mellitus type 1, vegetable and food consumption, elder fruit juices and plant vitamin antioxidants and their influence on the human diet.

This book presents important research advances in the study of vitamin research, including flavonoids, beta carotene, vitamin d and vitamin c. Topics discussed herein include the role of vitamin c in human reproduction; vitamin c as a stress bioindicator; vitamin d receptor agonists; carotenoids in crops; bioavailability and metabolism of dietary flavonoids; and flavonoid action in cancer.

Nutritional assessment has been considered as a cornerstone of nutritional diagnosis, management, intervention and dietary planning. Specific criteria, methods and procedures should be used for different age groups through a person's life cycle based on the requirements of each age group. This handbook includes the details of each assessment method for different age groups, from pregnancy to old age. It can be used as a quick, practical guide and reference for clinical dietitians.

Meant for quick retrieval of vital information regarding the management of nutritional issues in patients with gastroenterological problems—either primary or as the consequence of other medical disorders, such as diabetes, hyperlipidemia and obesity. The book addresses normal physiology and pathophysiology, and offers chapters on diseases that can lead to specific nutritional problems. The clinical focus is on therapeutic nutrition and dietary management.

For busy clinicians struggling to fit the critical issue of nutrition into their routine patient encounters, Nutrition in Clinical Practice translates the robust evidence base underlying nutrition in health and disease into actionable, evidence-based clinical guidance on a comprehensive array of nutrition topics.

The Oxford Handbook of Nutrition and Dietetics, second edition, is a practical quick-reference guide to the vital and valued subject of nutrition in the prevention and treatment of disease and the maintenance of good health. This handbook will be an invaluable companion for all dieticians, nutritionists, and nurses, as well as doctors and students in a variety of specialities.

The 5th edition of this book is available in print.
This bestselling text provides the latest coverage of the biochemistry and physiology of vitamins and vitamin-like substances. Extensively revised and expanded on the basis of recent research findings with enlarged coverage of health effects of vitamin-like factors, it is ideally suited for students and an important reference for anyone interested in nutrition, food science, animal science or endocrinology.