The following databases include filters on their results or advanced search pages that can limit to primary. original, and empirical research. This does not mean that other databases don't include empirical or primary research, just that you'll have to add search terms to include or exclude different kinds of studies.
Peer reviewed. Full-text content.
This database focuses on organic and inorganic chemistry, medicinal chemistry, physical chemistry, biochemistry, and biotechnology. Includes 80+ journals published by the American Chemical Society.Peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Covers the field of psychology, with topics relating to mental illness, psychological treatment, counseling, developmental psychology, and educational psychology. Includes access to APA journal within these subjects.Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
This database focuses on psychology and explores topics like psychiatry, pharmacology, linguistics, treatments, counseling, addiction, and more. Contains APA journals and articlesPartially peer reviewed. Full-text content.
This engineering collection is curated by ASME, a professional membership organization for mechanical engineers and associated members worldwide. Comprised of journals, articles, conference proceedings, and ASME Press books.
Peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Open access. Statistical & research data.
Dedicated to the medical field, including life sciences, oncology, nursing, dentistry, psychiatry, health care, veterinary science, anesthesiology, and more. Includes articles and other authoritative content.Peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Focuses on the fields of biology, psychology, technology, economics, nursing, health sciences, and law. Includes access to journal articles.