Before you start searching for articles, think of your specific research question and the main ideas you plan to write about. This will help you identify search terms to use in the databases and make your search process more efficient. If you search for "sociology" in a database, you'll find hundreds of thousands of articles on a wide variety of sociology topics. Some good ways to narrow down a research idea include:
Once you've identified the main ideas you plan to research, combine your search terms using AND to create a search string you can use in a database. For example: "college students" and "food security"; "Latino women" and "national trends". For more strategies to improve your searching, see the Searching Strategies page in this guide or watch the video below.
Save articles and data as you go, not just the links, especially when you're using multiple databases to find information. You can always delete things later if they turn out not to be useful.
Use the following databases to find articles about sociology topics. While these databases primarily include scholarly, peer-reviewed articles, they may also include other types of sources such as dissertations, book reviews, and magazine articles.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Explore sociology topics, such as human behavior, relationships, communication, community development, culture, and more. Includes journal articles.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Dedicated to sociology research and related topics, including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, religion, racial studies, and social work. Contains journals and abstracts.
Peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Covers sociology and social works, including social and cultural structure, history and theory of sociology, and social psychology. Contains scholarly journals and more.
Peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Explores a wide range of social sciences, including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, sociology, and social work. Offers academic journals and more.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
This multidisciplinary database includes subjects like literature, history, art, sociology, psychology, mathematics, communication, and science. Contains ebooks, articles, and journals.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Explores gender and women’s studies, including gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) research within the fields of sociology, psychology, education, health, law and politics. Comprised of books, journals, and magazines.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full text content.
Offers essential, often overlooked perspectives on social, ethnic, and cultural news in English and Spanish. Comprised of articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Environmental sciences database with articles from journals, magazines, newsletters and reports.
Peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Explores more than 175 interdisciplinary subjects and serves as a central resource for researchers. Contains periodical titles, scholarly articles, and other sources.
The following databases are multidisciplinary and include a wide range of topics, including sociology research.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Videos. Audio Recordings.
EBSCO Discovery Service is the default search on the Fulton Library’s BOOKS and more tab. Includes the library’s books and videos, articles from many library databases, and more.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Open access.
Google Scholar offers sources across many disciplines and sources, like academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and websites. Results include articles, theses, books, abstracts, court opinions, and more.Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Focuses on business, humanities, law, social sciences, and science, technology, and medicine. Includes journal articles.
Partially peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Covers the humanities and social sciences, such as literature, theater, art, psychology, business, film studies, and more. Includes access to journals, books, and more.
Peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Focuses on the life sciences, physical sciences, medical sciences, and technology, with access to scientific, technical, and medical research. Includes journal articles, book chapters, and publications.
If you can't access the full text of an article using any of the resources on this page, use Interlibrary Loan to request the article. We'll locate another library that has the article and get you a PDF copy for free; this typically takes 2-3 business days. UVU students and employees should never pay for articles—the library has you covered!
