This research guide is designed to help you get started finding and understanding scholarly articles for your SOC 1020 assignments. It is organized by the types of resources you may want to use in your projects, including:
If you need any assistance with your research, contact a librarian using the contact information included in this guide. We're happy to help!
The following resources are frequently used for sociology research. OneSearch (below) also works well, since it combines many databases plus the library's book and media collections. Explore the other pages of this guide to find additional resources for your research.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Explore sociology topics, such as human behavior, relationships, communication, community development, culture, and more. Includes journal articles.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Dedicated to sociology research and related topics, including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, religion, racial studies, and social work. Contains journals and abstracts.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
This multidisciplinary database includes subjects like literature, history, art, sociology, psychology, mathematics, communication, and science. Contains ebooks, articles, and journals.
The best place to start most searches is the search box on the library's homepage. This search box defaults to Articles, giving you quick access to popular and scholarly articles from thousands of different publications.
More databases and search tools are available on our full list of databases.
