So you want to design a theatrical costume? We can help! This guide includes databases, books, and other resources for finding historical references, tips for creating costumes, and more.
Before you dive into these suggested resources:
If you have any questions, please let us know! Your theatre librarian, Kim Reich, is happy to help.
Partially peer reviewed. Full-text content.
This collection encompasses specialist subject areas that are not found in general databases, including art, design, architecture, humanities, film/screen studies, music, and performing arts. Contains journal titles and indexes in these fields.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
This multidisciplinary database includes subjects like literature, history, art, sociology, psychology, mathematics, communication, and science. Contains ebooks, articles, and journals.
Partially peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Focuses on the field of music, with topics ranging from musicology and the blues to theater and the broadcast arts. Contains literature reviews, articles, biographies, and more.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Encompasses the fields of dance, theater, film, opera, stagecraft, theater and dance criticism, choreography, and related topics. Includes journals and abstracts. *Licensing permits 25 simultaneous users.
Partially peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Explores humanities subjects, including art, architecture, history, philosophy, music, literature, and theater. Offers journal articles and more.
Non-peer reviewed. Full-text content. Videos.
Drama Online includes plays from new writers and the most iconic names in playwriting history. Provides contextual and critical background through scholarly works and practical guides.
Our collections include BBC Drama Films and Documentaries, Critical Studies and Performance Practice, Donmar Shakespeare Trilogy on Screen, Focal Press Theatre Books, Global Plays, L.A. Theatre Works, National Theatre, Nick Hern Books, Oberon Books, Shakespeare's Globe on Screen, TCG Books, Theatre Making and Performance Training, and Drama's Core Collection plus updates.
Non-peer reviewed. Videos.
Dedicated to the study of opera. Contains opera performances captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries, plus selections from the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses.
Non-peer reviewed. Full-text content. Videos.
This database, created by Films Media Group, focuses on films for most academic disciplines. Contains international films, documentaries, and more.
Non-peer reviewed. Videos.
This on-demand video streaming service provides access to thousands of films. Offers award-winning film collections, including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation, and more.
The best place to start most searches is the search box on the library's homepage. This search box defaults to Articles, giving you quick access to popular and scholarly articles from thousands of different publications.
More databases and search tools are available on our full list of databases.
