Research Guides: U.S. History: Home

Getting Started

Welcome to the U.S. History research guide! This guide provides links to the most useful tools and resources for researching U.S. History. If you need any assistance with your research please, contact our history librarian using the contact information included in this guide. He would be happy to help!

Image: Hattie Tom, Apache, 1898, Boston Public Library

Most Used Resources

America: History and Life [EBSCO]
Peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Covers American and Canadian history from the Neolithic era to the present. Includes articles from hundreds of journals.
US History in Context [Gale]

Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Provides an overview of U.S. history, covering the most-studied events, conflicts, political and cultural movements, and more. Includes periodical content.
JSTOR [ITHAKA]

Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
This multidisciplinary database includes subjects like literature, history, art, sociology, psychology, mathematics, communication, and science. Contains ebooks, articles, and journals.

Encyclopedia of the American West (Print Book) by Charles Phillips and Alan Axelrod
Publication Date: 1996

The Encyclopedia focuses on the people and peoples of the West, approaching the region as a collection of multiethnic frontiers and as the spawning ground for an array of industries and enterprises that each gave rise to its own culture and carried with it important ecological consequences.
New Dictionary of American History (Print Book) by Stanley I. Kutler
Publication Date: 2002

Satisfying a long-felt need, this ready reference volume will enable the teacher, scholar, student and layman to pinpoint quickly the object of search, whether it be a name, place, event, catch-phrase, or any other item in the field. The scope goes far beyond conventional coverage of the political, the military and the geographical, extending broadly into the aspects of science, invention, commerce and industry.
Utah History Encyclopedia (Ebook) by Allan K. Powell (Editor)
Publication Date: 1994

This book is also available in print.
Over two hundred contributors write about the individuals, organizations, locations, institutions, and topics important to Utah history. This landmark volume will provide an essential resource for anyone interested in the history of the state for years to come. The contributors, under the editorship of Allan Powell, who have donated their time to this project comprise nearly all scholars of Utah history working both within and outside the state. The 240 historical photographs will also be an excellent resource. The Utah History Encyclopedia sets the standard for state historical reference encyclopedias.

Search for Articles

The articles tab on the library's homepage The best place to start most searches is the search box on the library's homepage. This search box defaults to Articles, giving you quick access to popular and scholarly articles from thousands of different publications.