Before you start searching for articles, think of your specific research question and the main ideas you plan to write about. This will help you identify search terms to use in the databases and make your search process more efficient.
If you search for "emergency management" in a database, you'll find thousands of articles on a wide variety of emergency management topics. To focus on your unique research needs, use additional search terms relevant to your interests. Think about...
Once you've identified the main ideas you plan to research, combine your search terms using AND to create a search string you can use in a database. For example: "emergency response plans" AND individuals AND "special needs"
Use the following databases to find articles about emergency management. While these databases primarily include scholarly, peer-reviewed articles, they may also include other types of sources such as dissertations, book reviews, and magazine articles. Use the database filters to limit your results to just the type of sources you need.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Dedicated to sociology research and related topics, including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, religion, racial studies, and social work. Contains journals and abstracts.
Partially peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Covers economics, business, accounting, management, and related subjects. Includes academic journals, trade publications, company annual reports, dissertations, and working papers, plus country profiles and economic forecasts.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Designed to support global awareness and information on business, economics, diplomacy, culture, climate change, and more. Includes access to geographically diverse newspapers, magazines, and journals.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Designed to support science, social studies, current events, and language arts by presenting each side of important issues. Features articles and authoritative content.
Partially peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Covers the humanities and social sciences, such as literature, theater, art, psychology, business, film studies, and more. Includes access to journals, books, and more.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Focuses on business, humanities, law, social sciences, and science, technology, and medicine. Includes journal articles.
Peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Focuses on the life sciences, physical sciences, medical sciences, and technology, with access to scientific, technical, and medical research. Includes journal articles, book chapters, and publications.
The following are recommended emergency management journals. Following an individual journal is a great way to keep up with the latest research in your field! Once you click on a link, you'll arrive at the landing page for the publication. From there, click on one of the links under Full Text Access to see issues of or articles from the publication.
Critical Infrastructure Protection: Best Practices and Innovative Methods of Protection (Ebook) by 
Critical Infrastructure Protection Against Hybrid Warfare Security Related Challenges (Ebook) by 
Critical Infrastructure Protection in Homeland Security (Print Book) by 
Terrorists' Use of the Internet: Assessment and Response (Ebook) by 
Industrial Network Security: Securing Critical Infrastructure Networks for Smart Grid, SCADA, and Other Industrial Control Systems (Ebook) by 
Introduction to Emergency Management (Ebook) by 
This list is only a starting point of commonly used books in this area, not a complete list of library books on the subject. To find other books on this subject, use the search box on the library's homepage. To find other books on this subject, use the search box on the library's homepage. The search box defaults to OneSearch. To look for books, toggle over to Books. This will limit your search to books and ebooks.
