This research guide is designed to help students in NURS 4340 get started finding articles, books, and other resources in genomics and nursing. It will help you be more efficient in your research and writing.
For best results as you search:
This guide also includes links to resources to improve your presentation and citation skills.
If you need any assistance with your research, use the Help features in this guide to contact a librarian—we're happy to help!
In addition to OneSearch (the library's main database, see below), here are a few other databases you will find useful while starting your research.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Explores consumer health, nursing, medicine, and alternative medicine. Contains journals and books within these subject areas
Partially peer reviewed. Full-text content. Statistical & research data.
This collection of databases covers all fields of evidence-based medicine. Includes studies, experiments, and clinical trials for new drugs and treatments.
Peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Open access. Statistical & research data.
Dedicated to the medical field, including life sciences, oncology, nursing, dentistry, psychiatry, health care, veterinary science, anesthesiology, and more. Includes articles and other authoritative content.
Peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Focuses on the life sciences, physical sciences, medical sciences, and technology, with access to scientific, technical, and medical research. Includes journal articles, book chapters, and publications.
Non-peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Statistical & research data.
Specializes in the healthcare field. Includes editorial content, clinical and drug information, and advanced patient care information
New users: Create an UpToDate account and keep a record of your username
Existing users: Must login with the “username” and not the “email address” associated with the account
Non-peer reviewed. Full-text content. Videos.
Nursing Reference Center Plus specializes in the nursing field. Includes access to care plans, video demonstrations, and more.
Non-peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Statistical & research data.
Specializes in the healthcare field. Includes editorial content, clinical and drug information, and advanced patient care information
New users: Create an UpToDate account and keep a record of your username
Existing users: Must login with the “username” and not the “email address” associated with the account
Non-peer reviewed. Full-text content. Videos.
Nursing Reference Center Plus specializes in the nursing field. Includes access to care plans, video demonstrations, and more.
Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders (Print Book) by Non-peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Statistical & research data.
Specializes in the healthcare field. Includes editorial content, clinical and drug information, and advanced patient care information
New users: Create an UpToDate account and keep a record of your username
Existing users: Must login with the “username” and not the “email address” associated with the account
Non-peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Statistical & research data.
Specializes in the healthcare field. Includes editorial content, clinical and drug information, and advanced patient care information
New users: Create an UpToDate account and keep a record of your username
Existing users: Must login with the “username” and not the “email address” associated with the account
OneSearch and ProQuest are the Fulton Library's main databases. They allow you to search the library's articles, books, streaming media, and more. OneSearch and ProQuest include resources on almost every topic, making it a great place to start your research!
To use either of these databases, go to the UVU Fulton Library Homepage link below. Use the tabs in the search box to navigate between OneSearch and ProQuest. Enter search terms into the box, then hit enter or click the magnifying glass.
We recommend using both databases because, while there is some overlap between the two, each database features a lot of unique content.
