This research guide is designed to provide resources and helpful information for students in the SUDC 4300 class. It is organized according to the types of resources you may find useful, including journals and articles, books, videos of examples of therapy or counseling sessions, and web resources.
In addition to search tips, this guide also contains:
If you need any help with your research, feel free to ask the subject librarian! We're always happy to help!
The following resources are frequently used for substance use disorder counseling research. Explore the other pages of this guide to find additional resources for your research.
DSM-5-TR: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (eBook) by Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Videos. Audio Recordings.
OneSearch is the default search on the Fulton Library’s homepage. Includes the library’s books and videos, articles from many library databases, and more.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
This database focuses on psychology and explores topics like psychiatry, pharmacology, linguistics, treatments, counseling, addiction, and more. Contains APA journals and articles
Peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Covers the field of psychology, with topics relating to mental illness, psychological treatment, counseling, developmental psychology, and educational psychology. Includes access to APA journal within these subjects.
Peer reviewed. No full-text content.
Explores current and historical literature relating to the growth and development of children through age 21. Includes academic journals, reviews, books, magazines, reports, conference papers, and working papers.
Peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Open access. Statistical & research data.
Dedicated to the medical field, including life sciences, oncology, nursing, dentistry, psychiatry, health care, veterinary science, anesthesiology, and more. Includes articles and other authoritative content.
Peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Focuses on the field of psychiatry, such as psychiatric diagnosis, treatment, guidelines, research, and breaking news. Includes books, journals, and more.
Non-peer reviewed. Videos.
This video database focuses on counseling and psychotherapy. Videos include tutorials, interviews, and demonstrations related to counseling theories and approaches, research methods, and more. Please note: Our subscription to SAGE Video currently only includes the Counseling & Psychotherapy Collection.
Non-peer reviewed. Videos.
This database focuses on the fields of psychology and counseling training. Contains hundreds of videos organized by approach, therapeutic issue, and more.
OneSearch and ProQuest are the Fulton Library's main databases. They allow you to search the library's articles, books, streaming media, and more. OneSearch and ProQuest include resources on almost every topic, making it a great place to start your research!
To use either of these databases, go to the UVU Fulton Library Homepage link below. Use the tabs in the search box to navigate between OneSearch and ProQuest. Enter search terms into the box, then hit enter or click the magnifying glass.
We recommend using both databases because, while there is some overlap between the two, each database features a lot of unique content.
