Annotated Bibliographies

An annotated bibliography (sometimes called structured research notes) is a way of organizing and describing sources on a single topic or that contribute toward answering a specific research question. In a nutshell, an annotated bibliography is a list of citations and summaries—usually just one paragraph long—for each source. The annotation summary gives an overview of the source's content and argument, an evaluation of the source's validity, and some details about how the source will help you answer your research question. 

Your professor will often give you a target number of sources that you need to include in your annotated bibliography. They will also often give directions about the kinds of sources your should use (for example, peer-reviewed articles, books, websites, etc.). Beyond this, you'll want to make sure the sources you choose have enough information to help you answer your research question. If you're not sure what sources to include in your annotated bibliography, here are some questions to think about:

• Do you need historical or background information? 
• Do you need statistical information?
• Do your sources represent multiple points of view? 
• Do you have sources for a counter-argument? (Where applicable.) 
• If you need current sources, are your sources up-to-date? 

Writing an annotated bibliography may be a step you take in the process of completing a larger research paper or project, or it might be the final project itself. Annotated bibliographies and structured research notes are helpful for aggregating research so that another person can learn about your topic and find relevant sources.

Annotated bibliographies have a simple format. Each citation should be in APA, MLA, or the designated citation style with a hanging indent, then listed alphabetically by author. If no author is listed, use the first word in the title of the article or webpage. Your annotation paragraph will be immediately below each citation. 

Examples

Depending on your assignment, your annotated bibliography will likely include a wide variety of sources on your topic. These sources may include some combination of scholarly articles, popular sources, data and statistical sources, and government information. When searching for these sources, you may want to start by using a relevant research guide or database. 

Because your annotated bibliography needs to explore a question in depth, there are some additional steps to take to ensure you've found all of the relevant research:

• Search multiple databases to make sure you’re not overlooking anything.
• Use different combinations of search terms so you don’t miss anything relevant while you search.
• Go through the bibliographies at the end of the articles you find. Frequently cited articles are probably important, foundational studies that you'll need to discuss in your literature review. Looking at article bibliographies to find other sources is a technique called citation chaining, and it helps ensure you completely answer your research question.

If you're struggling to find research, you may want to make an appointment with a subject librarian. 

OneSearch is the Fulton Library's main database. It allows you to search the library's articles, books, streaming media, and more. OneSearch includes resources on almost every topic, making it a great place to start your research!

To use OneSearch, go to the UVU Fulton Library Homepage link below. OneSearch is the main search box on the page. Enter search terms into the box, then hit enter or click the magnifying glass. Once your search runs, you can filter your results clicking the All Filters button that appears below the search box. 

• Call: 801.863.8840
• Text: 801.290.8123