Before you start searching for articles, think of your specific research question and the main ideas you plan to write about. Once you've identified the main ideas you plan to research, combine your search terms using AND to create a search string you can use in a database. For example: anxiety AND mindfulness AND adolescents. For more strategies to improve your searching, see the Searching Strategies page in this guide.
Watch the video below for an overview of using OneSearch to find scholarly articles. The concepts in this video also apply to using other library databases. The video includes tips for finding PDF copies of articles and generating APA style citations.
Use the following databases to find articles about behavioral science topics. The database that works best for you will depend on your area of focus. While these databases primarily include scholarly, peer-reviewed articles, they may also include other types of sources such as dissertations, book reviews, and magazine articles.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Videos. Audio Recordings.
OneSearch is the default search on the Fulton Library’s homepage. Includes the library’s books and videos, articles from many library databases, and more.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
This database focuses on psychology and explores topics like psychiatry, pharmacology, linguistics, treatments, counseling, addiction, and more. Contains APA journals and articles
Peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Covers the field of psychology, with topics relating to mental illness, psychological treatment, counseling, developmental psychology, and educational psychology. Includes access to APA journal within these subjects.
Peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Covers social, industrial, experimental, evolutionary, cognitive, clinical, and situational psychology, as well as personality, psychobiology, and psychometrics. Offers abstracts, journals, and more.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Dedicated to sociology research and related topics, including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, religion, racial studies, and social work. Contains journals and abstracts.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Explore sociology topics, such as human behavior, relationships, communication, community development, culture, and more. Includes journal articles.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Focuses on ethnography, archeology, linguistics, and cultural and physical anthropology. Contains current anthropology journals within these fields.
Peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Focuses on the field of psychiatry, such as psychiatric diagnosis, treatment, guidelines, research, and breaking news. Includes books, journals, and more.
Peer reviewed. No full-text content.
Explores current and historical literature relating to the growth and development of children through age 21. Includes academic journals, reviews, books, magazines, reports, conference papers, and working papers.
Peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Open access. Statistical & research data.
Dedicated to the medical field, including life sciences, oncology, nursing, dentistry, psychiatry, health care, veterinary science, anesthesiology, and more. Includes articles and other authoritative content.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Explores consumer health, nursing, medicine, and alternative medicine. Contains journals and books within these subject areas
The following databases are multidisciplinary and include a wide range of topics, including behavioral science and clinical research.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Open access.
Google Scholar offers sources across many disciplines and sources, like academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and websites. Results include articles, theses, books, abstracts, court opinions, and more.Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
This multidisciplinary database includes subjects like literature, history, art, sociology, psychology, mathematics, communication, and science. Contains ebooks, articles, and journals.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Focuses on business, humanities, law, social sciences, and science, technology, and medicine. Includes journal articles.
Peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Focuses on the life sciences, physical sciences, medical sciences, and technology, with access to scientific, technical, and medical research. Includes journal articles, book chapters, and publications.
Peer reviewed. No full-text content. Statistical & research data.
This interdisciplinary database focuses on scientific and academic research. Provides bibliographic and citation information for journal articles.
If you can't access the full text of an article using any of the resources on this page, use Interlibrary Loan to request the article. We'll locate another library that has the article and get you a PDF copy for free; this typically takes 2-3 business days. UVU students and employees should never pay for articles—the library has you covered!
