Use the following databases to find articles about biology. Remember that not all articles you find in these databases will be scholarly, peer-reviewed articles.
Non-peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Open access.
ArXiv focuses on the fields of mathematics, physics, computer science, quantitative biology, and statistics. Includes academic papers awaiting peer review.Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
BioOne’s subject areas include zoology, botany, paleontology, forestry, ecology, and microbiology. Comprised of biology journals.Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Specializes in nature research. Provides access to all news, analysis, commentary, and journal content on the nature.com platform, including archived content.Peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Focuses on the fields of biology, psychology, technology, economics, nursing, health sciences, and law. Includes access to journal articles.Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Explores today's most significant science topics and showcases scientific disciplines that relate to real-world issues. Includes articles and more.Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Science encyclopedias, reference books, and periodicals covering biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology, and wildlife.
Peer reviewed. No full-text content. Statistical & research data.
This interdisciplinary database focuses on scientific and academic research. Provides bibliographic and citation information for journal articles.The following are peer-reviewed scholarly journals. This means that the articles within these journals were written by experts and reviewed by several other experts in the field before publication. This ensures the articles' quality. Be aware, however, that non-article items published in peer-reviewed journals like book reviews, editorials, letters to the editor, and news items are not peer-reviewed.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Specializes in nature research. Provides access to all news, analysis, commentary, and journal content on the nature.com platform, including archived content.If you can't access the full text of an article using any of the resources on this page, use Interlibrary Loan to request the article. We'll locate another library that has the article and get you a PDF copy for free; this typically takes 2-3 business days. UVU students and employees should never pay for articles—the library has you covered!