This research guide is designed to help students researching chemistry get started finding articles, books, and other resources in this subject area. The guide is organized according to the types of resources you might want to find, including:
The following databases can help you quickly find scholarly articles related to topics in chemistry.
Partially peer reviewed. No full-text content.
Includes topics such as organic and inorganic chemistry, biochemistry, pharmaceuticals, chemical engineering, and applied and analytical chemistry. Contains articles, reports, patents, monographs, books, and more. You must register to use Chemical Abstracts.
Peer reviewed. Full-text content.
This database focuses on organic and inorganic chemistry, medicinal chemistry, physical chemistry, biochemistry, and biotechnology. Includes 80+ journals published by the American Chemical Society.
Peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Focuses on the life sciences, physical sciences, medical sciences, and technology, with access to scientific, technical, and medical research. Includes journal articles, book chapters, and publications.
Non-peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Open access. Statistical & research data.
Specialized chemistry database focusing on millions of molecules and compounds. Includes descriptions of molecule and compound functions, structures, and more that is based on authoritative data.
OneSearch and ProQuest are the Fulton Library's main databases. They allow you to search the library's articles, books, streaming media, and more. OneSearch and ProQuest include resources on almost every topic, making it a great place to start your research!
To use either of these databases, go to the UVU Fulton Library Homepage link below. Use the tabs in the search box to navigate between OneSearch and ProQuest. Enter search terms into the box, then hit enter or click the magnifying glass.
We recommend using both databases because, while there is some overlap between the two, each database features a lot of unique content.
