Research Guides: Citation Help: Citation Style Manuals &amp; Guides

Citation & Writing Styles

You'll consult books, articles, and other sources of information when you research a topic. Citations in your research projects give credit to the original authors of those sources and show where you found the information. The main goal of a citation is to include all the information another person would need to find the source again, including the author, title, date, and a location such as a URL or DOI (digital object identifier). There are several common citation styles that outline exactly how you should order and format this information.

This research guide includes resources for using the most common citation styles correctly. It will also connect you with citation management tools that can help keep your sources organized (and make your research life easier!). If you need any assistance with citations, use the Help features in this guide to contact a librarian. The UVU Writing Center is also a fantastic resource for citations help!

UVU Writing Center
Make an appointment to receive one-on-one feedback on your writing at any stage of the writing process. The Writing Center also provides in-person workshops and online tutorials.

APA Style

APA is the citation style commonly used for research in the social and behavioral sciences, business, education, and the sciences. The following resources will help you learn how to format APA citations.

UVU Writing Center Handouts
Handouts about citation styles, grammar, common assignments, and the writing process.
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL): APA
Formatting and Style Guide for APA style with examples from the Purdue Online Writing Lab.
DOIs and URLs (APA Style Blog)
Tips for finding and using DOIs correctly in APA citations, as well as information on when to use URLs.
APA Style Website
Official website of APA publication style. Includes information about style, formatting, in-text citations, reference list, and more.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association: The Official Guide to APA Style, 7th Edition (Print Book)
Publication Date: 2020
This book from the American Psychological Association is the official source for APA Style, 7th Edition. It includes numerous examples for citing different types of sources. Print copies of the book are available in the library's reference collection.

MLA Style

MLA is the citation style commonly used for research in the humanities, including many English classes. The following resources will help you learn how to format MLA citations.

UVU Writing Center Handouts
Handouts about citation styles, grammar, common assignments, and the writing process.
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL): MLA
Formatting and Style Guide for MLA style with examples from the Purdue Online Writing Lab.
MLA Style Website
Official website of the MLA publication style. Includes information about style, formatting, in-text citations, reference list, and more.

MLA Handbook (Print book) by the Modern Language Association of America
Publication Date: 2021
The MLA Handbook from the Modern Language Association is the official source for MLA Style. It shows writers how to cite sources and create citations for their works-cited page. Print copies of the book are available at the research help desk on the first floor.

Chicago Style

Chicago is the preferred citation style for history, anthropology, and art research. The following resources will help you learn how to format Chicago citations.

Chicago Manual of Style Online
Official online guide to Chicago Style. Includes information about the publishing process, punctuation, grammar, style, and citations.
UVU Writing Center Handouts
Handouts about citation styles, grammar, common assignments, and the writing process.
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL): Chicago
Formatting and Style Guide for Chicago style with examples from the Purdue Online Writing Lab.

Chicago Manual of Style (Print Book)
Publication Date: 2017
The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition, is the official print resource for learning Chicago style. The citation chapters reflect the ever-expanding universe of electronic sources—including social media posts and comments, private messages, and app content—and also offer updated guidelines on such issues as DOIs, time stamps, and e-book locators.

ASA Style

ASA is the citation style commonly used for research in sociology. The following resources will help you learn how to format ASA citations.

UVU Writing Center Handouts
Handouts about citation styles, grammar, common assignments, and the writing process.
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL): ASA
Formatting and Style Guide for ASA style with examples from the Purdue Online Writing Lab.

American Sociological Association Style Guide (Print Book)
Publication Date: 2014
This book from the American Sociological Association is the official guide to ASA Style. It is designed to serve as the authoritative reference for writing, submitting, editing, and copy editing manuscripts for ASA journals.

Other Styles

Scientific Style and Format: The CSE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers, 8th Edition (Print Book)
Publication Date: 2014
Developed by the Council of Science Editors (CSE), the leading professional association in science publishing, this style guide encompasses all areas of the sciences.
Turabian: A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, 9th Edition (Print Book)
Publication Date: 2018
Turabian style is a citing and referencing system based on the Chicago style and named after Kate Turabian, from the University of Chicago, who authored a manual to guide students in citing and referencing when writing research papers. A print book is available in the library, and tip sheets are also available online.
AMA Manual of Style: A Guide for Authors and Editors, 10th Edition (Print Book)
Publication Date: 2007
The AMA Manual of Style provides editorial support to the medical and scientific publishing community. It is the style of the American Medical Association.

Library Help

Call: 801.863.8840
Text: 801.290.8123