This research guide is designed to provide you with resources and helpful information for your CJ 3330: Financial Crimes Investigations research assignments. It will walk you through recommended databases and websites, how to find newspaper articles, career resources, and tips for citing sources. If you need any help with these steps, please contact your librarian.
Background information can help you prepare for further research by explaining all the issues related to your topic, especially when you're investigating a field that's unfamiliar to you. You might search Google or read a newspaper, encyclopedia entry, or a chapter in a book. In all of these instances, you will be briefly surveying the existing information to help refine your research topic. Possible topics include:
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Videos. Audio Recordings.
OneSearch is the default search on the Fulton Library’s homepage. Includes the library’s books and videos, articles from many library databases, and more.
Partially peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Covers economics, business, accounting, management, and related subjects. Includes academic journals, trade publications, company annual reports, dissertations, and working papers, plus country profiles and economic forecasts.
Partially peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Comprehensive database of legal information, including state and federal sources. Contains cases, secondary sources, regulations, and more.
Partially peer reviewed. No full-text content. Open access.
Focuses on the field of criminal justice, including corrections, courts, crime, law enforcement, and more. Contains summaries of federal, state, and local government reports, as well as articles, books, research reports, and unpublished research.
OneSearch is the Fulton Library's main database. It allows you to search the library's articles (scholarly, news, and magazine), books, streaming media, and more.
OneSearch includes resources on almost every topic, making it a great place to start your research!
To use OneSearch, go to the UVU Fulton Library Homepage link below. OneSearch is the main search box on the page. Enter a few search terms into the box, then hit enter or click the magnifying glass. Once your search runs, you can filter your results using the filters on the left side of the page.
