Research Guides: Clinical Mental Health Counseling (CMHC): Home

Welcome

This research guide is designed to support students in UVU's Clinical Mental Health Counseling program. It will help you get started finding articles, books, and other resources in this subject area.

The guide is organized by the types of resources you may want to use in your projects, including:

Search Strategies: learn how to effectively search our databases. Read this page before delving into the other resources in this guide.
Find Articles: includes databases and journals most effective for your research.
Scholarly Articles: save yourself time—learn strategies for reading scholarly articles!
Find Books: examples of books and ebooks in our collection (including several on the DSM-5), as well as information about how to find more library books.
Find Videos: includes resources for finding videos of therapy and counseling sessions, documentaries, and other videos.
Find Tests & Measures: tips for finding tests and measures to use in your research, as well as resources to help you write your own surveys.
Find Statistics & Data: includes resources to help you locate statistics related to your research.
Web Resources: online resources from the American Mental Health Counselors Association and the American Counseling Association, history of the DSM-5, and Utah's CMHC licensing requirements.
Citations: help with citing your sources in APA style and keeping track of your research sources using citation managers.

If you need any help with your research, contact a librarian using the contact information included in this guide. We're happy to help!

Most Used Resources

Research Article Databases

OneSearch [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
OneSearch is the main search box on the Fulton Library's homepage and combines many databases plus the library's book and media collections. When you use OneSearch, you'll find articles from APA PsycINFO, APA PsycARTICLES, SocINDEX, Sociological Collection, plus many more databases. Use the filters to limit to peer-reviewed articles.
APA PsycInfo [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
This database from the American Psychological Association includes journal articles on a wide range of behavioral and social science topics, such as psychology, psychiatry, pharmacology, linguistics, treatments and counseling, and addiction. Late 1800s-present, mostly peer-reviewed content, partial full text available.
APA PsycArticles [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
This database provides full text access to journal articles from the American Psychological Association. It covers a wide range of behavioral and social science topics, such as psychology, psychological treatment, counseling, developmental psychology, and educational psychology. 1984-present, peer-reviewed content, full text available.
APA PsychTESTS [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Non-peer reviewed. Full-text content. Statistical & research data.
A repository of psychological tests particularly useful for qualitative research. Comprised of psychological measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments
Child Development & Adolescent Studies [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Peer reviewed. No full-text content.
Explores current and historical literature relating to the growth and development of children through age 21. Includes academic journals, reviews, books, magazines, reports, conference papers, and working papers.
PubMED [NLM] This link opens in a new window
Use to locate clinical and health science research articles. This database is provided by the United States National Library of Medicine at the National Institutes of Health. 1950s-present, peer-reviewed content. Partial full text available.
Psychiatry Online Premium [APA] This link opens in a new window
Peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Focuses on the field of psychiatry, such as psychiatric diagnosis, treatment, guidelines, research, and breaking news. Includes books, journals, and more.

Video Databases

Psychotherapy.net Films [Psychotherapy.net] This link opens in a new window
Non-peer reviewed. Videos.
This database focuses on the fields of psychology and counseling training. Contains hundreds of videos organized by approach, therapeutic issue, and more.
SAGE Video: Counseling & Psychotherapy Collection [Sage] This link opens in a new window
Non-peer reviewed. Videos.
This video database focuses on counseling and psychotherapy. Videos include tutorials, interviews, and demonstrations related to counseling theories and approaches, research methods, and more. Please note: Our subscription to SAGE Video currently only includes the Counseling & Psychotherapy Collection.
Academic Video Online (AVON) [Alexander Street] This link opens in a new window
Includes therapy or counseling sessions. In the database, click the Filter icon, then select "Counseling Session" from the list of Content Types. This database also includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and demonstrations.

Other Resources

DSM-5: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (eBook) by the American Psychiatric Association
Publication Date: 2013
An online version of the DSM-5 is available through the Fulton Library's subscription to Psychiatry Online Premium.
Also available in print.

Physical copies of the DSM-5 are available on the library's 5th floor at call number RC455.2 .C4 D54 2013. A non-circulating copy is also available at the Research Help Desk on the library's 1st floor. The DSM-5 is the standard reference book for clinical practice in the mental health field and is used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders.

American Counseling Association (ACA)
The American Counseling Association (ACA) is a not-for-profit, professional and educational organization that is dedicated to the growth and enhancement of the counseling profession. Founded in 1952, ACA is the world's largest association exclusively representing professional counselors in various practice settings. Their website includes career and professional development resources, the ACA code of ethics and professional standards, and publications for the latest research and news.

American Mental Health Counselors Association (AMHCA)
The American Mental Health Counselors Association (AMHCA) is a professional association for practitioners in clinical mental health counseling. Use their website to learn about common research topics in the field and read news from the profession, view standards and ethics for CMHC professionals, and to learn about career and professional development opportunities.

Ask Your Librarian

Annie Smith

Contact:

Email Annie
FL410, Fulton Library

801.863.8752

Subjects: Cinema Studies, English & Literature, Ethnic Studies, General Interest Topic Guides, General Research, Languages, News & Current Events, Research Skills

Library Help

Call: 801.863.8840
Text: 801.290.8123

In-Person Help