Clinical Mental Health Counseling (CMHC)

The importance of mental health counseling has grown, including the array of mental health issues that arise in an uncertain and fragile world...This fourth edition expands the information in the previous editions by updating the positive changes in the field of mental health counseling including the recognition of licensed professional counselors by managed care organizations and insurance companies.

This book is a core text for introductory courses on clinical mental health counseling. The text opens with an introduction to the history and evolution of clinical mental health as well as the legal and ethical issues that students may encounter in practice. Part II presents the primary tasks associated with mental health counseling such as assessment, diagnosis, treatment planning, managed care, and psychopharmacology. Part III focuses on current issues in supervision, self-care, research, and neuroscience. Complete with case studies, discussion questions, and emerging models for clinical intervention, this comprehensive text is an instrumental guide for counselors-in-training.

Published by the American Mental Health Counselors Association (AMHCA), this book defines this unique profession, explains its distinctive characteristics, assembles a number of the profession's fundamental documents, and provides career development guidance.

Completely revised and updated to reflect the new 2014 ACA Code of Ethics and current ethics codes in psychology, social work, and marriage and family therapy. This unparalleled text guides helping professionals in the use of ethical decision-making processes as the foundation for ethical approaches to counseling and psychotherapy. The book focuses on ethical and legal challenges and standards across multiple professions emphasizing counseling.

An online version of the DSM-5 is available through the Fulton Library's subscription to Psychiatry Online Premium.
Also available in print.

The DSM-5 is the standard reference book for clinical practice in the mental health field and is used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders.

By demystifying the DSM-5, author Sophia Dziegielewski goes beyond the traditional diagnostic assessment and suggests both treatment plans and practice strategy. She covers the changes in criteria to the DSM-5 and what those changes mean for mental health professionals. The book includes robust tools for students, instructors, and new graduates seeking licensure.

Written for an audience that includes private practitioners; counselors working in mental health centers, psychiatric hospitals, employee assistance programs, and other community settings; as well as counselor educators and their students, this helpful guide breaks down the concepts and terminology in the DSM-5 and explains how this diagnostic tool translates to the clinical situations encountered most frequently by counselors.

In The Diagnostic System, the sociologist Jason Schnittker looks at the multiple actors involved in crafting the DSM and the many interests that the manual hopes to serve. Is the DSM the best tool for defining mental illness? Can we insure against a misleading approach? Schnittker shows that the classification of psychiatric disorders is best understood within the context of a system that involves diverse parties with differing interests.

The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, more commonly known as the DSM, is published by the American Psychiatric Association and aims to list and describe all mental disorders. The publication of DSM-5 in 2013 brought many changes. Diagnosing the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders is written for all those who wonder whether the DSM-V now classifies the right people in the right way. It is aimed at patients, mental health professionals, and academics with an interest in mental health.

Tailored to the particular needs of current and future counselors, behavioral healthcare clinicians, and other helping professionals working with this vulnerable population. With in-depth content broken into two sections, this book first provides a foundation in the diagnostic process by covering the underlying principles of diagnosis and treatment planning, and then applies this framework to the DSM-5 categories related to children and adolescents.

This book is a down-to-earth, informative, and affirming manual for mental health clinicians working with patients of diverse gender and sexual identities. In recent years, people have begun to grapple with these issues in a healthier, more public way, and mental health practitioners must be prepared to meet their patients with the knowledge, understanding, and grasp of the context in which patients live their lives. Explores the psychological and cultural context for each gender or sexual identity in a comprehensive, realistic, and affirming way.

The classic reference on psychotherapy—revised for the 21st century. Keeping pace with the rapid changes that are taking place in the field, Bergin and Garfield's Handbook of Psychotherapy and Behavior Change, endures as the most important overview of research findings in psychotherapy for professionals, academics, researchers, and students.

Mental health clinicians have become increasingly aware that mood disorders often first manifest in childhood and adolescence. As the only reference for mental health professionals and trainees on the topic, Clinical Handbook for the Diagnosis and Treatment of Pediatric Mood Disorders fills a critical gap in the literature and addresses a critical need for the growing number of affected youth.

The Handbook of Assessment and Treatment of Eating Disorders is the only book that provides clinicians with everything they need to know to implement these changes in assessment, diagnosis, and treatment.

This handbook presents the most effective, widely studied approaches to couple therapy. The distinguished coeditors bring together other leading experts, most of whom developed the approaches they describe. Adhering closely to a uniform structure to facilitate study and comparison, chapters cover the history, theoretical and empirical underpinnings, and techniques of each model. The volume also describes cutting-edge applications for particular relationship contexts (such as blended families, LGBT couples, and separated couples) and clinical problems (such as partner aggression, psychological disorders, and medical issues).