Research Guides: COMM 1020: Public Speaking: Home

Getting Started

This research guide is designed to help students in COMM 1020: Public Speaking get started finding articles, books, and other resources to use as informational sources for their speeches. Pages include:

Great Speeches Assignment: tips for completing the Great Speeches assignment included in COMM 1020 classes, including books and webpages for locating the text, video, or audio of great speeches in history.
Developing a Topic: tips for choosing a topic and developing it into a research question, as well as places to look for topic ideas.
Search Strategies: learn how to effectively search our databases.
Find Articles: includes recommended databases for finding scholarly articles.
Find Books: information on how to locate library books on your topic, including ebooks you can read online.
Citations: help citing your sources correctly.

If you need any assistance with your research, contact a librarian using the contact information included in this guide. We're happy to help!

Most Used Resources

The following resources are frequently used to find articles for COMM 1020 research assignments. OneSearch (below) also works well, since it combines many databases plus the library's book and media collections. Explore the other pages of this guide to find additional resources for your research.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find articles to use as sources in your speeches. Multidisciplinary database with peer-reviewed and non-peer reviewed journals as well as newspapers and magazines. This is a good starting point for a search in any subject. 1975-present, partial full text available.
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find articles to use as sources in your speeches. Premier periodical resource providing articles from 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources. Some peer-reviewed content available, partial full text available.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
This is a great place to look for topic ideas, or find background information on a topic you've chosen. Access to in-depth reports on controversial issues in environmental sciences, law, politics, social issues, and international trade and business health. 1991-present, non-peer reviewed., full text available.

OneSearch

OneSearch is the Fulton Library's main database. It allows you to search the library's articles, books, streaming media, and more. OneSearch includes resources on almost every topic, making it a great place to start your research!

To use OneSearch, go to the UVU Fulton Library Homepage link below. OneSearch is the main search box on the page. Enter search terms into the box, then hit enter or click the magnifying glass. Once your search runs, you can filter your results clicking the All Filters button that appears below the search box.

UVU Fulton Library Homepage
The library's main page. Access OneSearch, help options, library hours, and more.

Help With Your Speeches

UVU Public Speaking Lab
UVU's Public Speaking Lab offers students enrolled in COMM 1020: Public Speaking an opportunity to receive one-on-one feedback about their speeches from trained public speaking lab mentors and communication faculty members. Students can schedule appointments to: (1) Practice oral delivery, (2) Receive outline assistance, (3) Topic selection guidance, and/or (4) Help finding and citing sources. Visit their website to learn more or make an appointment.

Librarian

Angela Beatie

Contact:

Email Angela
FL115, Fulton Library

801.863.7421

Subjects: Anthropology, Behavioral Science, Communication, Family Science, Gender Studies, Psychology, Social Work, Sociology

Library Help

Call: 801.863.8840
Text: 801.290.8123

In-Person Help