This guide is designed to help students in COMM 3050: Theories of Communication and Culture successfully complete the literature review section of your research project.
Communication comes up in all disciplines, from health care to education to business. For this reason, when looking for research specifically from communication scholars or about communication theories, it's a good idea to use specialized communication databases or journals, such as the database Communication & Mass Media Complete. This guide will help you find and use these resources effectively!
If you're looking for communication research within a different discipline, such as communication in business settings, you might want to also explore the research guide for the subject you're connecting with communication. You can use other library resources in conjunction with communication resources.
If you need any assistance with your research, contact a librarian using the contact information included in this guide. We're happy to help!
The following databases are frequently used for communication research. OneSearch (below) also works well, since it combines many databases plus the library's book and media collections. Explore the other pages of this guide to find additional resources and search tips.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Specializes in scholarly works that analyze and contribute to pop culture. Comprised of scholarly journals and magazines.
OneSearch is the Fulton Library's main database. It allows you to search the library's articles, books, streaming media, and more. OneSearch includes resources on almost every topic, making it a great place to start your research!
To use OneSearch, go to the UVU Fulton Library Homepage link below. OneSearch is the main search box on the page. Enter search terms into the box, then hit enter or click the magnifying glass. Once your search runs, you can filter your results clicking the All Filters button that appears below the search box.
