Research Guides: COMM 3050: Theories of Communication and Culture: Home

Getting Started

This guide is designed to help students in COMM 3050: Theories of Communication and Culture successfully complete the literature review section of your research project.

Communication comes up in all disciplines, from health care to education to business. For this reason, when looking for research specifically from communication scholars or about communication theories, it's a good idea to use specialized communication databases or journals, such as the database Communication & Mass Media Complete. This guide will help you find and use these resources effectively!

If you're looking for communication research within a different discipline, such as communication in business settings, you might want to also explore the research guide for the subject you're connecting with communication. You can use other library resources in conjunction with communication resources.

If you need any assistance with your research, contact a librarian using the contact information included in this guide. We're happy to help!

All Research Guides
A list of research guides available from Fulton Library.

Most Used Resources

The following databases are frequently used for communication research. OneSearch (below) also works well, since it combines many databases plus the library's book and media collections. Explore the other pages of this guide to find additional resources and search tips.

Communication & Mass Media Complete [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
This is an excellent database if you're looking for articles from communication researchers and scholars, rather than articles from other disciplines that discuss communication in relation to their field. Includes articles in communications, mass media, journalism, communications technology, and related topics. Use the Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals filter located on the left side of the results page to limit to peer-reviewed articles. 1915-present, partial full text available.
Communication & Mass Media Collection [Gale] This link opens in a new window
By default, this database will display only magazine articles after you run a search. If you're looking for peer-reviewed articles, be sure to click the "Academic Journals" link at the top of the page to see the available peer-reviewed articles. Includes various aspects of the communications field, including advertising, public relations, linguistics, and literature. Partial full-text available.
Pop Culture Studies [Gale] This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Specializes in scholarly works that analyze and contribute to pop culture. Comprised of scholarly journals and magazines.

OneSearch & ProQuest

OneSearch and ProQuest are the Fulton Library's main databases. They allow you to search the library's articles, books, streaming media, and more. OneSearch and ProQuest include resources on almost every topic, making it a great place to start your research!

To use either of these databases, go to the UVU Fulton Library Homepage link below. Use the tabs in the search box to navigate between OneSearch and ProQuest. Enter search terms into the box, then hit enter or click the magnifying glass.

We recommend using both databases because, while there is some overlap between the two, each database features a lot of unique content.