Research Guides: Communication: Find Books

Finding Books

This page includes a starting list of reference books to help with your communication research, as well as instructions for locating more books. Books are helpful for an in-depth look at your topic or for finding background information.

Find Books: UVU Fulton Library Homepage
Use the search box on the library's homepage to search for more books. The search box defaults to OneSearch. To look for books and ebooks, toggle over to Books. This will limit your search to books and ebooks only. You can also find more communication books by browsing the P1–P100 section on the Fulton Library's 4th floor.

Books and Ebooks

Art and Craft of PR: Creating the Mindset and Skills to Succeed in Public Relations Today (Print Book) by Sandra Stahl
Publication Date: 2018
This book is built around the idea that PR as a communications discipline has no boundaries. It is the PR professional's manual for creating that specific type of mindset and building the necessary skills to meet today's communications challenges, which include mastery of the fundamentals, cultivating unbridled curiosity and creativity, the art of listening, and never losing sight of business objectives.
Associated Press Stylebook 2019 and Briefing on Media Law (Print Book) by the Associated Press
Publication Date: 2019
A fully revised and updated edition of the bible of the newspaper industry, The Associated Press Stylebook is the gold standard for news writing. The stylebook will help you master the AP's rules on grammar, spelling, punctuation, capitalization, abbreviation, word and numeral usage, and when to use "more than" instead of "over."
Dictionary of Media and Communication, Third Ed. (Ebook) by Daniel Chandler and Rod Munday
Publication Date: 2020
This authoritative and up-to-date A–Z dictionary offers points of connection between communication and media and covers all aspects of interpersonal, mass, and networked communication, including digital and mobile media, advertising, journalism, social media, and nonverbal communication.
Encyclopedia of Communication Theory (Ebook) by Stephen W. Littlejohn and Karen A. Foss (Editors)
Publication Date: 2009
This book is also available in print.
With more than 300 entries, this encyclopedia provides a one-stop source for a comprehensive overview of communication theory, offering current descriptions of theories as well as the background issues and concepts that comprise these theories. This is the first resource to summarize, in one place, the diversity of theory in the communication field.
Encyclopedia of Media and Communication (Ebook) by Marcel Danesi
Publication Date: 2013
Contributions from more than 50 experts and practitioners provide an accessible introduction to these disciplines' most important concepts, figures, and schools of thought—from Jean Baudrillard to Tim Berners Lee, and podcasting to Peircean semiotics.
International Encyclopedia of Communication (Ebook) by Wolfgang Donsbach (Editor)
Publication Date: 2008
The International Encyclopedia of Communication represents the definitive reference work in this interdisciplinary and dynamic field. This authoritative twelve-volume set is jointly published by Wiley-Blackwell and the International Communication Association (ICA), the leading academic association of the discipline in the world.
International Encyclopedia of Gender, Media, and Communication (Ebook) by Karen Ross (Editor-In-Chief)
Publication Date: 2020
The International Encyclopedia of Gender, Media, and Communication comprises more than 250 entries by an international team of both established and emerging scholars in the field. This innovative resource explores how gender is represented in media, who produces the content, and the ways in which audiences receive and understand media messages.
International Encyclopedia of Organizational Communication (Ebook) by Craig Scott and Laurie Lewis (Editors)
Publication Date: 2017
The International Encyclopedia of Organizational Communication offers a comprehensive collection of entries contributed by international experts on the origin, evolution, and current state of knowledge of all facets of contemporary organizational communication. It examines organization communication across a range of contexts, including NGOs, global corporations, community cooperatives, profit and non-profit organizations, formal and informal collectives, virtual work, and more.
Symbol and the Reason: An Introduction to Public Relations (Ebook) by Luke Strongman
Publication Date: 2017
This book is a critical and practical guide to the aspects of public relations in the everyday business world. It explores key thematical trends and developments within the public relations and reputation management fields.

Handbooks

Handbooks are collections of scholarly essays on a topic and include extensive bibliographies of additional sources. Handbooks can be especially useful for research, since they help give you a "big picture" look at your topic AND lead you to peer-reviewed articles.

The following are a few examples of handbooks. You can search for more handbooks by simply adding AND handbook after your search terms.

PR Professional's Handbook (Ebook) by Caroline Black
Publication Date: 2014
Offers practical advice and solutions for anyone involved in the public relations function. The handbook guides practitioners in preparing and evaluating campaigns. In addition to providing a full breakdown on the individual skills required in briefing, writing and presenting projects of different shapes and sizes, the book covers the role and importance of public relations and communications in organizations, addressing, in full, key theories for PR, skills and disciplines, channels and creativity.
Routledge Handbook of Language and Intercultural Communication (Print Book) by Jane Jackson (Editor)
Publication Date: 2012
Provides a comprehensive introduction to the multidisciplinary field of intercultural communication, drawing on the expertise of leading scholars from diverse backgrounds. The handbook is structured in five sections and covers historical perspectives, core issues and topics, and new debates in the field, with a particular focus on the language dimension.
Routledge Handbook of Applied Communication Research (Ebook) by Kenneth N. Cissna and Lawrence R. Frey (Editors)
Publication Date: 2009
Provides a state-of-the-art review of communication scholarship that addresses real-world concerns, issues, and problems. This comprehensive examination of applied communication research, including its foundations, research methods employed, significant issues confronted, important contexts in which such research has been conducted, and overviews of some exemplary programs of applied communication research, shows how such research has and can make a difference in the world and in people's lives.

Select Communication & Digital Media Books

The following are popular books related to communication and digital media / technology.

Reclaiming Conversation: The Power of Talk in a Digital Age (Print Book) by Sherry Turkle
Publication Date: 2015
Renowned media scholar Sherry Turkle investigates how a flight from conversation undermines our relationships, creativity, and productivity—and why reclaiming face-to-face conversation can help us regain lost ground.
Alone Together: Why We Expect More from Technology and Less from Each Other (Print Book) by Sherry Turkle
Publication Date: 2011
In "Alone Together," MIT technology and society professor Sherry Turkle explores the power of our new tools and toys to dramatically alter our social lives. It's a nuanced exploration of what we are looking for—and sacrificing—in a world of electronic companions and social networking tools, and an argument that, despite the hand-waving of today's self-described prophets of the future, it will be the next generation who will chart the path between isolation and connectivity.
It's Complicated: The Social Lives of Networked Teens (Ebook) by danah boyd
Publication Date: 2014
This book is also available in print.
What is new about how teenagers communicate through services such as Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram? Do social media affect the quality of teens' lives? In this book, the author, a youth culture and technology expert examines the conventional wisdom regarding teens' use of social media. She explores tropes about identity, privacy, safety, danger, and bullying. Ultimately, she argues that society fails young people when paternalism and protectionism hinder teenagers' ability to become informed, thoughtful, and engaged citizens through their online interactions.

Library Help

Call: 801.863.8840
Text: 801.290.8123