The George Sutherland Archives collects and makes available materials that document and reflect the history and development of Utah Valley University and the surrounding communities. These collections are available for research to the campus community and the public at large. Access to physical archival materials is with assistance of Archives staff only. For more information regarding items contained in our collections or any other archives-related questions, please contact us.
This guide will show you how to access both the materials present in the archives (Physical Collections) and digital material made available online (Digital Collections).
The George Sutherland Archives focuses on building collections in the following areas:
This collection consists of materials collected by Wilson W. Sorenson. It includes personal papers; materials related to Utah Valley University under earlier names including Central Utah Vocational School, Utah Trade Technical Institute, and Utah Technical College; materials related to external governing boards; external sources of information about the school; writings and other sources; newspaper clippings; photographs and slides; yearbooks; and scrapbooks.
Black and white photograph of the interior of the Provo Campus Library at Utah Trade Technical Institute. There are shelves with books in the background, tables and chairs in the right, and a card catalog in the left foreground. 1966.
Black and white card of the Utah Tech basketball team. There is a picture of the team on the front of the card and a basketball schedule on the back. 1982-1983.
Color photograph of the Orem Campus, looking west. The parking lot and the Auto Trades building can be seen in the center of the photograph with Utah Lake in the background. 1980.
Black and white photograph of (left to right) Lee Western, instructor Keith Hunter, and Fred Jones looking at an electrical panel. There is an open window in the background behind the panel. 1955.
Color photograph of the Orem Campus Library at Utah Technical College at Provo/Orem, Level 2. The circulation desk is in the center. George Tanner is standing with his back to the camera.
