The Sutherland Archives’ Digital Collections are available online and are accessible to everyone. They are a valuable resource for UVU-and Utah County-related primary source materials such as historic photographs, documents, and oral histories.
The Digital Collections include materials directly related to UVU, such as school catalogs, historic photos, the student newspaper, school newsletters, scrapbooks, etc.; Woodbury Art Museum collections; Roots of Knowledge-related materials; UVU-related oral histories; scholarly work by UVU faculty and students; and hosted collections from partner institutions such as the Orem Public Library, the American Fork Public Library, and many more.
You can access a list of the Archives' digital collections below. This list is organized by broad topics.
You can also search all digital collections by going to the Utah Valley University Digital Collections link below. To find items or collections, use the tips for Searching the Digital Collections.
You can browse all of the archives' digital collections at the UVU Digital Collections link. They are organized alphabetically.
You can do a simple keyword search by typing your keywords into the search box. The simple search will look for items with your keywords in any of the item's fields (title, description, subjects, date, etc.) in all collections.
Click on Advanced Search to build a more complex search.
The default is to search all collections. You can choose to search specific collections by un-clicking Select All Collections and clicking the checkbox next to the collections you'd like to search.
You can then decide to search across all fields, search by a selected field, or search by date. The default selection is to search across all fields. Enter your search terms and then select what you would like the database to search. You have four options.
Add more search fields by clicking Add Row and selecting a connector (And or Or). You can have as many as four search fields connected by And or Or.
Note: If you build a search query of multiple search fields that uses more than one type of connector, the search will be executed from top to bottom.
You can also search for items by date by using the Enter Date search function. The dropdown will allow you to choose whether the item was created on, before, or after a certain date--or was created between a range of dates. The Enter Date search function searches across all fields—not just the date field.
Most items in the collections are open for educational use. But be sure to read the Rights Statement or the Usage Statement in the metadata of each item for details on how the materials can be used and who to contact if you have questions.
