(Source: Dictionary.com)
Conspiracy theories have always been with us, but widespread access to the internet and social media has made it easier for conspiracy theories to spread. This guide can help you get started on research in various conspiracy theories to find out how they started and what makes them popular. It can help you avoid and debunk conspiracy theories as they pop up in your life.
The following databases are your best bets for finding articles about why people believe in different conspiracy theories.
Peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Covers the field of psychology, with topics relating to mental illness, psychological treatment, counseling, developmental psychology, and educational psychology. Includes access to APA journal within these subjects.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
This database focuses on psychology and explores topics like psychiatry, pharmacology, linguistics, treatments, counseling, addiction, and more. Contains APA journals and articles
Non-peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Search national and regional newspapers from the U.S. and other countries. Includes The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Financial Times, The Salt Lake Tribune, Deseret News, and more.
OneSearch and ProQuest are the Fulton Library's main databases. They allow you to search the library's articles, books, streaming media, and more. OneSearch and ProQuest include resources on almost every topic, making it a great place to start your research!
To use either of these databases, go to the UVU Fulton Library Homepage link below. Use the tabs in the search box to navigate between OneSearch and ProQuest. Enter search terms into the box, then hit enter or click the magnifying glass.
We recommend using both databases because, while there is some overlap between the two, each database features a lot of unique content.
This list is only a starting point of commonly used books in this area, not a complete list of library books on the subject. To find other books on this subject, use the search box on the library's homepage. To find other books on this subject, use the search box on the library's homepage. The search box defaults to OneSearch. To look for books, toggle over to Books. This will limit your search to books and ebooks.
