Research Guides: Deaf Studies &amp; American Sign Language: Home

Getting Started

Deaf Studies encompasses a wide range of topics: education, discrimination, deaf culture, sign languages, interpreting, and more. Because there are so many possible topics for research in deaf studies, searching can be overwhelming.

For best results, we recommend:

Do background research to identify search terms and issues that affect the deaf community.
Focus your topic to specific issues or groups of people.
Use the language of the researchers and scholars (the jargon) to expand or focus your search.
Use the bibliographies of relevant articles to find more information.

Recommended Books and Databases

These books and videos can help you do background research before you dive into the article databases.

Books

Oxford Handbook of Deaf Studies, Language, and Education (Print Book) by Marc Marschark, Patricia Elizabeth Spencer, and Peter E. Nathan (Editors)
Publication Date: 2011
The field of deaf studies, language, and education has grown dramatically over the past forty years. From work on the linguistics of sign language and parent-child interactions to analyses of school placement and the the mapping of brain function in deaf individuals, research across a range of disciplines has greatly expanded not just our knowledge of deafness and the deaf, but also the very origins of language, social interaction, and thinking.
SAGE Deaf Studies Encyclopedia (Print Book) by Genie Gertz and Patrick Boudreault (Editors)
Publication Date: 2016
The time has come for a new in-depth encyclopedic collection of entries defining the current state of Deaf Studies at an international level using critical and intersectional lenses encompassing the field. The emergence of Deaf Studies programs at colleges and universities and the broadened knowledge of social sciences (including but not limited to Deaf History, Deaf Culture, Signed Languages, Deaf Bilingual Education, Deaf Art, and more) have served to expand the activities of research, teaching, analysis, and curriculum development.

Databases

These databases are our top recommendations for research in deaf studies. You can also use OneSearch (see below) to search for articles in many of the Fulton Library's databases at once.

APA PsycInfo [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
This database focuses on psychology and explores topics like psychiatry, pharmacology, linguistics, treatments, counseling, addiction, and more. Contains APA journals and articles
Education Full Text [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Topics include pedagogy, educational psychology, teaching methods, educational technology, and literacy. Contains journal articles.
Sociological Collection [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Explore sociology topics, such as human behavior, relationships, communication, community development, culture, and more. Includes journal articles.

OneSearch

OneSearch is the Fulton Library's main database. It allows you to search the library's articles, books, streaming media, and more. OneSearch includes resources on almost every topic, making it a great place to start your research!

To use OneSearch, go to the UVU Fulton Library Homepage link below. OneSearch is the main search box on the page. Enter search terms into the box, then hit enter or click the magnifying glass. Once your search runs, you can filter your results clicking the All Filters button that appears below the search box.

UVU Fulton Library Homepage
The library's main page. Access OneSearch, help options, library hours, and more.

Ask Your Librarian

Annie Smith

Contact:

Email Annie
FL410, Fulton Library

801.863.8752

Subjects: Cinema Studies, English & Literature, Ethnic Studies, General Interest Topic Guides, General Research, Languages, News & Current Events, Research Skills

Library Help

Call: 801.863.8840
Text: 801.290.8123

In-Person Help