Use the following databases to find articles about early childhood and elementary education. Remember that not all articles you find in these databases will be scholarly, peer-reviewed articles.
Peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Covers primary, secondary, and higher education, as well as special education, home schooling, and adult education. Includes educational publications.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Open access.
Database of the U.S Department of Education Resource Information Center. Focuses on topics in education, such as educational psychology, teaching methods, and scholarly research. Offers access to journals, magazines, and other resources.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Focuses on topics in education, like pedagogy, subject area teaching, standards, educational psychology, and continuing education. Includes education journals.
Non-peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Designed to enhance literacy instruction for teachers, librarians, and educators. Contains classroom resources, learning activities, movies, interviews, and more.
Use the following publications to either search for articles in your research or to keep up with the fields of early childhood and elementary education—or both! Once you click on a link, you'll arrive at the landing page for the publication. Click on one of the links under full text access to see issues of or articles from the publication.
The following resources are meant to help you with lesson planning.
Non-peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Designed to enhance literacy instruction for teachers, librarians, and educators. Contains classroom resources, learning activities, movies, interviews, and more.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Focuses on interdisciplinary content, including the humanities, science, history, and more. Provides images, videos, audio clips, periodicals, and other resources aligned to national and state curriculum standards.
The Fulton Library has a collection with thousands of children's books for Early Childhood and Elementary Education majors to use in their instruction and research. This collection is on the third floor of Fulton Library.
Readers' Advisory tools help to lead students from one book they like to another. The follow free resources can help you encourage your students to read new and diverse books.