This research guide is designed to provide resources and helpful information for students studying Emergency Services topics. It is organized according to the major subject areas in Emergency Services, including: EMT/Paramedic, Firefighter, and Homeland Security.
If you need any help with your research, contact your librarian. They are happy to help!
In addition to OneSearch (the library's main database, see below), here are a few other databases you will find useful while doing your research.
Partially peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Covers economics, business, accounting, management, and related subjects. Includes academic journals, trade publications, company annual reports, dissertations, and working papers, plus country profiles and economic forecasts.
Peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Open access. Statistical & research data.
Dedicated to the medical field, including life sciences, oncology, nursing, dentistry, psychiatry, health care, veterinary science, anesthesiology, and more. Includes articles and other authoritative content.
Peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Focuses on the life sciences, physical sciences, medical sciences, and technology, with access to scientific, technical, and medical research. Includes journal articles, book chapters, and publications.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
This database focuses on psychology and explores topics like psychiatry, pharmacology, linguistics, treatments, counseling, addiction, and more. Contains APA journals and articles
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
This database focuses on science engineering and technology, including computer science and security, robotics, chemistry, geology and earth science, waste management, space science, and oceanography. Includes journals, articles, and magazines.
Non-peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Access in-depth reports on controversial issues in environmental sciences, law, politics, social issues, and international trade and business health. Includes comprehensive reporting and analysis.
Non-peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Search national and regional newspapers from the U.S. and other countries. Includes The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Financial Times, The Salt Lake Tribune, Deseret News, and more.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Open access.
Google Scholar offers sources across many disciplines and sources, like academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and websites. Results include articles, theses, books, abstracts, court opinions, and more.Non-peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Open access. Statistical & research data.
This statistical database focuses on public health in the state of Utah. Offers access to a wide range of statistical data and publications.
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Focuses on the field of sports, including fitness, dance, sports medicine, and recreation. Contains journals on related topics.
Non-peer reviewed. Full-text content. Statistical & research data.
Statista offers quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other markets. Includes infographics and other data, such as statistics, forecasts, studies, dossiers, and industry reports.
Non-peer reviewed.
Focuses on job search and career resources. Features test prep materials for college admissions exams, occupational licensing exams, and high school equivalency exams. Register for a free account to take and save practice exams.
Peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Supports research on crime, such as causes and impacts, legal and social implications, and litigation and crime trends. Includes scholarly journals, trade publications, dissertations, crime reports, and more.
OneSearch and ProQuest are the Fulton Library's main databases. They allow you to search the library's articles, books, streaming media, and more. OneSearch and ProQuest include resources on almost every topic, making it a great place to start your research!
To use either of these databases, go to the UVU Fulton Library Homepage link below. Use the tabs in the search box to navigate between OneSearch and ProQuest. Enter search terms into the box, then hit enter or click the magnifying glass.
We recommend using both databases because, while there is some overlap between the two, each database features a lot of unique content.
