Before you start searching for articles, think of your specific research question and the main ideas you plan to write about. This will help you identify search terms to use in the databases and make your search process more efficient.
If you search for firefighting in a database, you'll find thousands of articles on a wide variety of firefighting topics. To focus on your unique research needs, use additional search terms relevant to your interests. Think about...
Once you've identified the main ideas you plan to research, combine your search terms using AND to create a search string you can use in a database. For example: firefighting AND "physical fitness"
Use the following databases to find articles about firefighting. While these databases primarily include scholarly, peer-reviewed articles, they may also include other types of sources such as dissertations, book reviews, and magazine articles. Use the database filters to limit your results to just the type of sources you need.
Peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Focuses on the life sciences, physical sciences, medical sciences, and technology, with access to scientific, technical, and medical research. Includes journal articles, book chapters, and publications.
Partially peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Covers economics, business, accounting, management, and related subjects. Includes academic journals, trade publications, company annual reports, dissertations, and working papers, plus country profiles and economic forecasts.
Peer reviewed. Some full-text content. Open access. Statistical & research data.
Dedicated to the medical field, including life sciences, oncology, nursing, dentistry, psychiatry, health care, veterinary science, anesthesiology, and more. Includes articles and other authoritative content.
Non-peer reviewed. Full-text content. Statistical & research data.
Statista offers quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other markets. Includes infographics and other data, such as statistics, forecasts, studies, dossiers, and industry reports.
The following are recommended firefighting journals. Following an individual journal is a great way to keep up with the latest research in your field! Once you click on a link, you'll arrive at the landing page for the publication. Click on one of the links under Full Text Access to see issues of or articles from the publication.
Fire: A Brief History (Print Book)
by
Firefighter's Handbook: Firefighting and Emergency Response (Print Book)
Firefighter's Handbook: Skill Sheets (Print Book)
Hydraulics for Firefighting (Print Book)
by
Firefighter Safety and Survival (Print Book)
by
Get Firefighter Fit: The Complete Workout from the Former Director of the New York City Fire Department Physical Training Program (Print Book)
by
Visual Dictionary of Firefighting Tools and Resources (Print Book)
by
To find other books on this subject, use the search box on the library's homepage. The search box defaults to Articles. To look for books, toggle over to Books and more. This will limit your search to books and ebooks.
