Research Guides: Environmental Studies: Home

Getting Started

This research guide is designed to help students researching environmental studies and sustainability topics get started finding articles, books, and other resources in this subject area. It is organized by the types of resources you may want to use in your projects:

Search Strategies: learn how to effectively search our databases. Read this page before delving into the other resources in this guide.
Find Articles: includes databases and journals most effective for finding articles for your research.
Find Books: a few examples of books and ebooks in our collection, as well as information on how to find more books from the library.
Web Resources: contains other websites and resources about environmental topics, including government resources for environmental regulations and data.
Citations: help with citing your sources in APA or ASA style.
Get Help: includes options for getting help from a librarian. You can also contact your subject librarians for assistance using the contact information on this page—we're always happy to help!

Most Used Resources

The following resources are frequently used for environmental studies research. OneSearch (below) also works well, since it combines many databases plus the library's book and media collections. Explore the other pages of this guide to find additional resources for your research.

GreenFILE [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Environmental sciences database with articles from journals, magazines, newsletters and reports.
ScienceDirect Journals [Elsevier] This link opens in a new window
Peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Focuses on the life sciences, physical sciences, medical sciences, and technology, with access to scientific, technical, and medical research. Includes journal articles, book chapters, and publications.
Environmental Science Database [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window
Peer reviewed. Full-text content.
Dedicated to topics related to environmental science, such as engineering, biotechnology, bacteriology, atmospheric science, ecology, and biology. Contains global literature and research.
Environmental Studies and Policy [Gale] This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Focuses on environment concerns and research. Includes journals, articles, and book reference content.
Environmental Studies in Context [Gale] This link opens in a new window
Partially peer reviewed. Some full-text content.
Encompasses the study of sustainability and the environment, including global warming, food safety, healthcare, and economic development. Contains journals within these fields.

OneSearch & ProQuest

OneSearch and ProQuest are the Fulton Library's main databases. They allow you to search the library's articles, books, streaming media, and more. OneSearch and ProQuest include resources on almost every topic, making it a great place to start your research!

To use either of these databases, go to the UVU Fulton Library Homepage link below. Use the tabs in the search box to navigate between OneSearch and ProQuest. Enter search terms into the box, then hit enter or click the magnifying glass.

We recommend using both databases because, while there is some overlap between the two, each database features a lot of unique content.