Whether you're searching using OneSearch or another library database, there are strategies you can use to ensure you find the kind of information you need. When you use search engines like Google, you're able to type in whole questions or phrases. Library databases, however, require using different search strategies.
First, we select the main search terms that relate to our topic. The database works best with nouns. Eliminate any articles (of, to, is, the), adjectives (best, worst, good, bad), and most verbs (affect, change, alter, support).
Quotation marks are used to tell databases to search for words in a certain order. This is especially useful for specific topics that can't be boiled down to a single word.
This is also helpful when searching for the title of a specific source or a person's name!
We then connect our search terms. This is what we'll actually type into a database search box. Search strings work best when they're limited to no more than two or three search terms—otherwise, your search will be too narrow!
When you connect your search terms using AND, the database will search for books, articles, and more that contain all your search terms. Search strings using AND narrow our search and help us find sources specific to our topic.
Search strings using OR help us expand our search and find more results. Use OR to search for related ideas and synonyms. Often, OR is used in conjunction with parenthesis. OR on its own can often bring back too many results, so the parentheses help keep the database from bringing up off-topic resources
You may want to exclude certain concepts from your research. This can be done using the word NOT. Search strings using NOT help us narrow our search and find results that are more relevant to our topic.
If you're struggling with your searches, please contact a librarian! We are happy to help you brainstorm search terms and format them for use in library databases.
Citation chaining (sometimes called citation mining) is a research technique that uses reference lists and citations to expand your search. Chaining is especially helpful when you're having a hard time finding enough articles on your topic.
To get started:
Citation chaining using an article's reference list involves moving backwards along a path of references, but we can use Google Scholar to look forward and see who has built on someone's work since it was published. Look up a relevant article on Google Scholar, and underneath the entry in Google Scholar, you will see a link that says Cited by [#] if an article, book, or book chapter has been cited since it was published. This another great way to find additional sources on your topic!
To get started, click the Google Scholar link below, then follow these steps:
